Lucero / Nobody's Darlings
Album: Nobody's Darlings   Collection:General
Artist:Lucero   Added:Jun 2005
Label:East West Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-08-22 Pull Date: 2005-10-24
Week Ending: Oct 2 Sep 25 Sep 18 Aug 28
Airplays: 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 07, 2022: Down in the Basement
4. Sep 17, 2010: Nick & Noah: TheRadioShow
2. Nov 02, 2010: Daydream Disaster
5. Mar 20, 2008: Morning Becomes Dyspeptic
3. Oct 19, 2010: Daydream Disaster
6. Jan 17, 2006: The Sad Men's Club (California Stars Edition)

Album Review
Guest DJ Account
Reviewed 2005-08-23
Alt country with amazing guitars and lead singer. The male vox is incredibly raw, almost spoken word at points, and adds a lot of emotion to the songs. The vox also adds the country flavor to the music. The guitars can be pretty heavy and distorted at points. Othertimes though, the melody is airy and gentle over harder sounding instrumentals. They do a good job but at a point all there music sounds similar which means that its all good but I would recommend 2, 3, 4, 7, and 9.
Track One: Heavy Guitar. Midtempo. Upbeat. Lots of distortion. Raw male voice. Pretty guitar arpeggios in background.
*Track Two: Again with heavy guitar. Distortion. Nice repetition of guitar line throughout the song. Kind of country love song mixed with rock. Yay alt. country! Nice guitar solo. Fast.
*Track Three: Midtempo switches to fast. Nice story. Heavier than before. A little more minor.
Track Four: Slow. A little more emphasis on acoustic guitar. Don’t do as well as the fast driven stories but still raw with emotion.
*Track Five: Again slow. Raw voice works very well here. A little depressing, a little minor.
Track Six: Midtempo. Voice is almost spoken word. Nice driving guitars and solos.
*Track Seven: Fast, fun, cute lyrics. Cool song about California.
Track Eight: Heavy solo electric guitar behind fast vox. Maybe because it’s a bit more melodic in the voice, this isn’t as great as the rest. Slow. Heavy guitar solo with distortion and backing guitar with arpeggios.
*Track Nine: Mellow. Slow. Amazing guitar and bass. Beautiful vox and lyrics. Heart-wrenching.
Track Ten: A little more pop. Upbeat. Happy. Kind of excited freedom song/ or drinking song. Whichever you prefer.
Track Eleven: Very pretty melodic guitar. Repetition of lyrics but it works with the song. Given-up-on-life song. Not suicidal just defeated.
Track Twelve: Simple, song about war. Voice gets incredibly raw and emotional.

Track Listing
1. Watch It Burn   7. California
2. Anjalee   8. Noon As Dark As Midnight
3. Bikeriders   9. Hold Me Close
4. Sixteen   10. Last Night in Town
5. Nobody's Darlings   11. All the Same to Me
6. And We Fell   12. The War