Negativland / No Business
Album: No Business   Collection:General
Artist:Negativland   Added:Jun 2005
Label:Seeland Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-07-25 Pull Date: 2005-09-26
Week Ending: Sep 25 Sep 18 Sep 11 Sep 4 Aug 28 Aug 21 Aug 14 Aug 7
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 3 4 5 6

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 04, 2015: The Final Sunset
No Business, Old Is New
4. Jan 26, 2006: Baptism of Solitude (Favorite of 2005 non-heavy)
2. Oct 11, 2006: Baptism of Solitude
5. Sep 23, 2005: Memory Select
Favorite Things
3. Aug 17, 2006: Cognitive Overload
6. Sep 15, 2005: On The Warpath

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-07-20
Cut and paste sample art by sound collage artists with probably the highest profile in the biz. Irreverent as always, poking the music industry and fair use laws as always. This release doesn't mince words or fuck around; its a direct slam at anti-downloading and music distribution. Every track has a theme of illegal downloading, industry consolidation, and general music industry suckiness. Never afraid to start a fight, they kick this cd off with totally illegal samplings of the Beatles themselves. Great stuff that fortunately strays away from their narcissistic material of recent years, this is all clean just begging for massive airplay. Play with Wayne Butane. (Note: this is only one part of a multimedia project that includes a book and multiple discs.)

1) completely illegal sampling of Beatles' "Because the world is round it turns me on..."
2) ethyl merman: "there's no business like stealing" mixed in w/ bad disco samples
3) spoken samples about downloading, music industry consolidation, "art as crime, crime as art", all the bases dense sample art
4) mix up of Julie Andrews singing "Favorite Things", somehow not as funny as it should be
5) old radio drama samplings, mash up
6) collage with reefers theme, cut up of Trailblazer commercial
7) old 50's radio drama mashup, silly/strange/psycho
8) another take on the Beatles' track, similar to track 1
9) Judy Garland this time doing "Theres no business like no business", very brief

Track Listing
1. Old Is New   5. God Bull
2. No Business   6. Keep Rollin'
3. Downloading   7. Piece a Pie
4. Favorite Things   8. New Is Old