Rovics, David / For the Moment
Album: For the Moment   Collection:General
Artist:Rovics, David   Added:Jul 2005
Label:Yo Yo Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-07-31 Pull Date: 2005-10-02
Week Ending: Oct 2 Sep 18 Aug 28 Aug 14 Aug 7
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 27, 2005: Umami Storytime
After the Revolution
4. Aug 10, 2005: Brownian Motion
The Draft Is Coming
2. Sep 14, 2005: Brownian Motion
5. Aug 03, 2005: Brownian Motion
3. Aug 27, 2005: subbing for raymundo and chief
Spanish Journalist Strike

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-07-26
Quality anti-war, peacenik progressive protest folk music. Not namby pamby bull, but no punches pulled good stuff. Straight to the point lyrics that cut like a knife over basic folk guitar with some overdubs, a la Dylan, Guthrie, Ochs. Byrd endorses this guy as a stalwart of Democracy Now. Having screened about 300 bad versions of this genre as music director post Sept 11th I'll endorse this stuff happily too.

1) abu gharaib, guantanamo torture the price of "progress"?
2) FCC: this is a great song, written in the person of a college educated iraqi who stands up for his family and country. unfortunately this track is pretty much ruined by an incongruous "rap" that has one motherfucker and renders this otherwise very powerful song radio un-friendly (edit accordingly if you play this track ..."to see another blackhawk down motherfucker", at about 1:15 remaining
3) anti draft song, going to war for haliburton, exxon, "the draft is coming"
4) slow ballad
5) ballad for Hugo Chavez, "before the coup"
6) a history of the new world, cuba, guantanamo bay
7) american bombings of non enemy targets, the media's inability to report real news
8) israel's wall construction
9) denser instrumentation
10) legend of irishmen who fought for mexico
11) love song to a picture of an el salvadoran "guerilla girl"
12) FCC ("shit")
13) love song
14) urban gardening appeal
15) sensitive song about iraqui refugee child's life
16) nice volume pedal electric guitar wails, embellishments, this one about isreali/palestinian conflict's effect on simple family life there
17) "whoever wins in november", it doesn't matter i guess cuz they're both the same apparently
18) utopian vision of revolution where no more weapons are made or used
19) a genuinely beautiful love song, politics aside, with a 60hz buzz

Track Listing
1. After We Torture Our Prisone   10. Saint Patrick Battalion
2. Falluja   11. Unknown Soldier
3. The Draft Is Coming   12. Like I Think About You
4. Berlin   13. Mi Amor
5. Song for Hugo Chavez   14. More Gardens Song
6. Guantanamo Bay   15. My Daughter
7. Spanish Journalist Strike   16. I Wanna Go Home
8. They're Building a Wall   17. Whoever Wins in November
9. The Scar Upon Your Face   18. After the Revolution
  19. Every Minute of Every Day