Make a Rising / Rip Through the Hawk Black Nig
Album: Rip Through the Hawk Black Nig   Collection:General
Artist:Make a Rising   Added:Jul 2005
Label:High Two Recordings  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-09-04 Pull Date: 2005-11-06
Week Ending: Sep 25 Sep 18 Sep 11
Airplays: 2 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 09, 2006: Rock in a Position
When Moving West
4. Sep 24, 2005: On The Warpath
Look at My Hawk
2. Apr 21, 2006: Rock in a Position
Song for Dead Nickle
5. Sep 20, 2005: lick my moody guitar show
When Moving West
3. Feb 23, 2006: Rock in a Position
Lovely It May Seem
6. Sep 16, 2005: Distraction-Limited
When Moving West

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-08-30
"Avante chamber rock at its most dynamic - like Daniel Johnston singing dystopian Beach Boys songs interpreted by Naked City" so says the one sheet. Thats pretty spot on (though I would definately include a big dash of prog). Schitzophrenic composition, bouncing from acoustic strumming at one second to complex arranged parts to blasts of loud, even electro noise moments. Suckling from the teat of Zorn and at the same time that of W.A.C.O, Birdsongs of the Mesozoic. Interesting stuff, especially if you cant decide what kind of mood you are in, what you want to listen to as a single song will take you on an outDisneylandish ride through a melange.

1) all over the map, moments of carnival, waltzing classical, whacked Naked City, but mostly dark and sombre
2) dark and slow again
3) starts with tinkling bells then slow fade in of pensive stravinsky'esque piano a la Birdsongs of the Mesozoic, mostly pretty and chill it builds to a tasteful dramatic end, this one is straight pop-prog and works best
4) near experimental noise/drone for 3 minutes then vocals and a freejazz style jam appears for a minute
5) strings, piano, disjunct composure, chamber prog-pop at its finest
6) electro bass, piano, introspective lyric, proggy stuff happening, found sound field recording 2 min end, pretty avante and interesting
7) epic quintessential upbeat chamber rock
8) schitzophrenic with louder prog-rock moments for sure, chill middle then back to the prog-rockin
9) this will make raise the peach fuzz on your average indie-rocker's chest: cute and sombre and sweet, with "heartbreaking" vocal
10) mandolin strumming with a Robert Wyatt desperate quality to the vocs, big dramatic piano stylings to end this track/cd

Track Listing
1. Look at My Hawk   6. Im Scared of Being Alone
2. Song for Dead Nickle   7. Lovely It May Seem
3. When Moving West   8. Lonesome in the Skiff
4. Plastic Giant   9. Expired Planet
5. Pun Womb   10. Partial Thoughts