Numbers / We're Animals
Album: We're Animals   Collection:General
Artist:Numbers   Added:Aug 2005
Label:Kill Rock Stars  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-09-25 Pull Date: 2005-11-27
Week Ending: Nov 27 Nov 20 Nov 13 Oct 30 Oct 23 Oct 16 Oct 9
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 11, 2008: At Your Local Dive
Desert Life
4. Dec 14, 2006: At Your Local Dive (Logan Whitehurst tribute)
Desert Life
2. Jul 12, 2007: At Your Local Dive
Black Crow Heart Of Gold
5. Nov 01, 2006: chapter 52.0: not your typical eran mukamel awesomeness [sub]
Party's Over
3. May 15, 2007: At Your Local Dive - Mission Creek Festival special
Funny But Sad
6. Sep 27, 2006: At Your Local Dive

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-09-18
Oakland trio shift away from their previous disjunct no-wave electro approach to a more straightforward accessible electrorock feel. Female drummer/lead vocals, heavy mini-moog synths, dissonant guitar. Unlike their previous noisy approach, this stuff borders on indie rock, much of it sounding closer to American Analog Set or Stereolab than channeling Gang of Four, Kleenix/Lilliput like they used to. Still good though, if only to reach a wider audience.

1) straightforward electrorock, title track
2) slower plod, drums shift to low fi double time beat while phrasing remains slow, as the melodies develop and the whole thing gets dense and epic, cool
3) like older style numbers: very post 70's london disjunct electro no-wave feel
4) big epic electrorock
5) jeeze, almost indie pop, cute and melodic and almost mellow
6) slow and almost mellow
7) slower mindful, indie rock and almost cute
8) upbeat urgent
9) upbeat poppy
10) dubby, quiet, experimental in nature for first 3 or so minutes then a beat appears and the song becomes another epic electrock number, guitar driven with lots of sonic youth'ish strumming
11) slow and mellow, sounds more like American Analog Set

Track Listing
1. Beast Life   6. Can't Remember
2. Black Crow Heart Of Gold   7. Solid Pleasure
3. The Fuck You Garage   8. Crows
4. Desert Life   9. I'll Love You 'til I Don't
5. Funny But Sad   10. Time Story
  11. Party's Over