Ctephin / Maaseh (Gnosis)
Album: Maaseh (Gnosis)   Collection:General
Artist:Ctephin   Added:Sep 2005
Label:Anticlock Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-10-02 Pull Date: 2005-12-04 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Nov 27 Nov 13 Nov 6 Oct 30 Oct 23 Oct 16 Oct 9
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 3 5

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 26, 2005: On The Warpath
4. Oct 31, 2005: Asymptotic Freedom
2. Nov 09, 2005: Brownian Motion
5. Oct 26, 2005: Brownian Motion
3. Nov 02, 2005: Brownian Motion
6. Oct 19, 2005: Brownian Motion

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-09-28
Hands-down some of the best droney, narcotic, experimental noise out there. This is very hypnotic, relaxing and beautiful. Mostly layers upon layers of sound but some tracks delve into melody, and the results are perfection. This is dreamy. On par with NON’s more sublime works, Eliane Radigue, Eno’s ambient works. “Found-sound/ambient/noise group from Oklahoma”, the seven tracks “conceptually represent the seven ‘dieties’ of kabalistic Gnosticism.”

1) sublime narcotic low-freq/white noise drone, just absolute perfection
2) cleaner sine wave low drone, organic noises appear then some trippy melodic synth reminiscent of Tomita or the like, followed by very spooky swirling washes of sound
3) fades-in, layers of industrial machinery sounds and looping fever-dreamlike samples
4) just beautiful sublime noise looping, grows dense, then recedes
5) more looping noise layers, so beautiful and hypnotizing
6) ambience with rainstorm sounds, but not cliché’; this one could pass for Eno/Harold Budd had they died and were reincarnated as Daniel Menche as its still dark and creepy
7) intense dense apogee of schedule II induced noise includes some sick synth “melody” and other flourishes, embellishments (this track appeared on the anitclock comp of late)

Track Listing
1. Kenoma   4. Ialdabaoth
2. Achamoth   5. Zoe
3. Abraxas   6. Sabaoth
  7. Demiurge