Bloom, Jane Ira / Like Silver, Like Song
Album: Like Silver, Like Song   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Bloom, Jane Ira   Added:Oct 2005

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-11-20 Pull Date: 2006-01-22 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jan 8 Dec 18 Dec 4 Nov 27
Airplays: 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 25, 2006: In Pluto We Trust
4. Dec 02, 2005: Memory Select
Unconscious Forces
2. Jan 06, 2006: Memory Select
Vanishing Hat
5. Nov 25, 2005: No Cover, No Minimum
Dark Knowledge
3. Dec 16, 2005: Memory Select
Night Skywriting

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2005-12-04
Accessible jazz, a sax-led quartet with a bit of a chamber-jazz sheen... they do swing and even rock out, but it's a very clean professional sound. Rather "grown-up"/NPR.

Here's the trick: Bloom does a lot of live electronics processing on her soprano sax, often giving it a fusion-y sci-fi sound (see #2,5). Adding to the mix are electronics from Jamie Saft (keys) and Bobby Previte (drums). What you get, then, are some quite "nice" jazz pieces that hit strange sonic bumps in the road.

1- Dreamy lush floating, ethereal, a bit too sweet
2- Hard-stepping bass groove w/ fluttery abstract sax lines.
3- Gentle mid/fast theme, gets insistent
4- Gloopy electronics, rather quiet
5- Mid/fast, catchy bass riff. Quiet middle.
6- Airy mid/fast wandering. Untethered but more "polite" than #9
7- Florid classical sound; mid/fast but a slow feel
8- Soft midtempo
9- Scribbly jumble, fast.
10- A spare, calm feel. Mid/fast tempo but not in a hurry.
11- Scribbles and doodles. Fast-paced, fun.
12- Spare, zen-like
13- Mostly solo sax, slow and romantic
14- Gently crashing. Lush.

Track Listing
1. Dreaming In The Present Tense   8. Magnetic
2. Unconscious Forces   9. In An Instant
3. Singing In Stripes   10. Mercury
4. Altair 4   11. Night Skywriting
5. Vanishing Hat   12. Dark Knowledge
6. White Light   13. I Have Dreamed
7. No Orchestra   14. Singing In Stripes