Raitt, Bonnie / Souls Alike
Album: Souls Alike   Collection:General
Artist:Raitt, Bonnie   Added:Oct 2005
Label:Capitol Records Inc.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-10-16 Pull Date: 2005-12-18
Week Ending: Oct 30 Oct 23
Airplays: 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 26, 2014: Music Casserole
God Was In The Water
3. Oct 18, 2005: Foreplay and Sex Wax
So Close
2. Oct 24, 2005: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
Love On One Condition
4. Oct 17, 2005: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
Unnecessarily Mercenary

Album Review
Sadie McFarlane
Reviewed 2005-10-14
Raitt, Bonnie – Souls Alike (EMI)
Reviewed by Sadie O., 10/14/05
We’re all pretty familiar with Bonnie Raitt by now… This is pretty bluesy and rootsy, nothing flashy or overproduced (although track 9 is close).
No FCC. 2, 10 best, 3, 7, 9 decent.
1. 3:38 slow, mellow blues about being a strong woman. Almost gospel feel towards end.
2. 5:15 **funky shuffle, a bit swampy, cool harmonies.
3. 3:41 *midtempo but upbeat, funky, chugging roadhouse groove.
4. 3:19 slow, quiet blues, nice slide guitar, nothing to hide the vocals.
5. 4:59 slow, half spoken vocals. First half of song is a little iffy, last two minutes are pretty cool, mostly guitar noodling.
6. 3:47 piano intro, funky but quiet, apparently inner voices fighting.
7. 3:49 *wah wah guitar, midtempo roadhouse bluesy two-step. Fun lyrics.
8. 4:26 slow, quiet, a bit of a lullaby frankly. Long fade at end.
9. 3:56 *funky shuffle fades in and out, kinda snakey. Long fade.
10. 4:20 **midtempo but loud, honky tonk blues
11. 4:59 very slow, very quiet, sort of jazzy, supper club piano. Fades and ends about 20 seconds short.

Track Listing
1. I Will Not Be Broken   6. Crooked Crown
2. God Was In The Water   7. Unnecessarily Mercenary
3. Love On One Condition   8. I Don't Want Anything To Change
4. So Close   9. Deep Water
5. Trinkets   10. Two Lights In The Nighttime
  11. The Bed I Made