Pinetop Seven / Night's Bloom, The
Album: Night's Bloom, The   Collection:General
Artist:Pinetop Seven   Added:Nov 2005
Label:Barbary Coast  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2005-11-27 Pull Date: 2006-01-29
Week Ending: Jan 8 Dec 18 Dec 11 Dec 4
Airplays: 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 06, 2013: Music Casserole
A Page From The Desert
4. Jan 04, 2006: Brownian Motion
Made A Whisper Out Of Me
2. Jul 31, 2009: Trailways
A Mouthful Of Expensive Teeth
5. Dec 13, 2005: The Panoply Christmas Special
Made A Whisper Out Of Me
3. Sep 23, 2007: Transmission Overload
6. Dec 12, 2005: Biff Bang Pow

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2005-11-21
This band has evolved their dark alt.twang into a lush concoction that smacks of chamber pop, Nick Cave drama, and the Beach Boys, as a speedball for your most scarred and jaded music vein. Melodic sincere male vocs reminiscent of Mark Kozelek, instrumentation that includes vibes, heavy string arrangements, lush layers of simple instruments (hence the chamber ref.), and slick LA style production. Beautiful, blatant, and shimmering. Will satify the mopey as well as the arty, any appreciator of well written studio executed music. Pop/dramatic composition is a little over the top if anything. Check it out.

1) brief intro, very symphonic, almost gothic with arpeggio guitars and production, definitely cool
2) mix of dark twang with smooth jazz sax and feel
3) piano, slow triplet, with string arrangements
4) simple acoustic guitar arpeggio fronted, but with lots of arranged brass and woodwind
5) yes, it’s a banjo, and it figures predominantly, giving it an obligatory upbeat tone, especially with the beach boys backup
harms and string arrangements
6) heavily orchestrated/arranged, going for epic pop masterpiece
7) outdoor campfire feel with crickets in intro but that slips away pretty quick and yr left with some pretty cheesy swingy faux-jazzy stuff
8) simple strum heavy beat, whistle melody, very Kozelek
9) slight Spanish snare and backbeat, some horn lends a Tindersticks notion
10) very brief strings
11) very epic perfect pop, only if you have a stomach for this dose though
12) dark intro, minor chords, dark solo acoustic guitar with minimal accompaniment grows lush, this might top it off
13) shimmering layering, chiming percussion, guitars, brief, instrumental, use as interlude

Track Listing
1. The Night's Bloom   7. June
2. Easy Company   8. A Page From The Desert
3. Fringe   9. His Aging Miss Idaho
4. A Fire Burns At The Foot Of Our Bed   10. Untitled
5. Born Among The Born Again   11. Witness
6. A Mouthful Of Expensive Teeth   12. Made A Whisper Out Of Me
  13. The Comedy Is Ended