Warrior King / Hold The Faith
Album: Hold The Faith   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Warrior King   Added:Dec 2005
Label:Vp Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-01-01 Pull Date: 2006-03-05 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Feb 12 Feb 5 Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 8
Airplays: 1 3 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 05, 2008: New World Disorder
4. Feb 08, 2006: The Dub Space
Motherland Awaits
2. Nov 09, 2006: Happy Hour
Reverence (Intro)
5. Feb 01, 2006: Deep in the Groove
3. Apr 07, 2006: Farmer Flap-Jack Sessions
My Life, Hold The Faith
6. Feb 01, 2006: The Dub Space
Judgement Day

Album Review
Sadie McFarlane
Reviewed 2005-12-16
Warrior King – Hold the Faith (VP)
Reviewed by Sadie O., 12/16/05
Roots rock, highly religious reggae. Very traditional, in the late 70’s-early 80’s vein. Many songs contain “interpretations” of sections from reggae classics, which are duly noted in the liner notes. Fairly small group of performers, non-electronic, straightforward (not dubby) production. Very pleasant, not terribly earthshaking. No FCC.
1. 2:03 intro – rooster crowing, spoken word, religious, very slow, quiet, no music.
2. 4:01 *midtempo bubble with horn section, nice harmonies on chorus, positive (rasta) lyrics.
3. 4:06 **midtempo, nice keyboard sounds, harmonies, religious – in fact, many terms I haven’t heard in ages, very I-thiopian.
4. 3:32 *forceful intro, driving riddim, survival lyrics.
5. 4:00 cool keyboard bubble, backing chorus sounds like modern “R&B”/hip hop backing vocals, otherwise very roots. Ends rather sloppily.
6. 4:02 **peaon to the religious benefits of marijuana. Sweet sound, hints of “Pass the Koutchie” in the sax. Another messy ending.
7. 3:57 *emphasis on vocal harmonies, nice horns. Rather subdued beat at first. Nice freedom lyrics.
8. 3:16 cool bubble, nice keyboards and horns, harmonies seem to be oddly mixed in front of main vocal.
9. 4:17 love song, lyrics definitely geared to appeal to female sensibilities, slightly dubby horns, otherwise rather bland sound.
10. 3:24 another love song (hey, that’s the title!), nice sound, sweet lyrics (seems like unique attitude amongst the notoriously philandering Jamaicans!)
11. 4:46 yet ANOTHER love song. Kind of simplistic.
12. 4:26 a song about the concept of love… a bit uptempo, pretty.
13. 4:01 *almost calypso music, kiddie singers, praising education.
“If you want to be a lawyer, you got to read good and praise Rastafari.” Words to live by…
14. 4:16 *strong riddim, spare production (occasionally music fades entirely and leaves only vocals.) Rasta message.
15. 4:14 *slightly uptempo with a bit of hand drum and flute.
16. 4:12 **slightly downtempo, lots of “jungle noises”, hand drum, about repatriation.

Track Listing
1. Reverence (Intro)   9. I Wonder
2. Hold The Faith   10. Another Love Song
3. Everyday   11. Baby Girl
4. Can't Get Me Down   12. They Don't Know
5. Judgement Day   13. Education
6. Meditation   14. Judah
7. Freedom   15. King
8. My Life   16. Motherland Awaits