Abner Trio / Distant Thunder Of The Sacred Force
Album: Distant Thunder Of The Sacred Force   Collection:General
Artist:Abner Trio   Added:Jan 2006
Label:Joyful Noise Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-04-30 Pull Date: 2006-07-02
Week Ending: Jul 2 Jun 18 Jun 4 May 21 May 14 May 7
Airplays: 1 1 1 3 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 01, 2006: The Top Shelf
4. Jun 15, 2006: music->happy
2. Jul 08, 2006: What's in the Ice Box?
5. Jun 02, 2006: The Top Shelf (with my buddy marco!)
3. Jun 30, 2006: Friday Mix
6. May 19, 2006: The Top Shelf

Album Review
Kyle Macomber
Reviewed 2006-05-01
Eclectic, guitar-driven indie-rock. Sing/talk male vocals with a biblical/apocalyptic feel (and lyrics). Masterful, melodic, dreamy guitar. Definite attitude to music, especially evident in first song. Eclectic, but not like the Clash, more in that you just have no idea where the song is going to go next. Lo-fi but sweeping song structures remind me of Broken Social Scene. The adept, complex guitar work really stands out above the rest. Just really great guitar. A lot of their songs start out with a dark feel but build towards hopefulness—resulting in an “it’s the end of the world as we know it—but I feel fine” attitude. FCC Clean. Picks: 1,4,6
1. ***Strong guitar strums and drum beat. Lead sings/speaks with resilience and swagger. Eerie “na na na” backing vocal. Really like the lyrics.
2. Big variances in speed throughout song. A really nice riff in there. Song has a lot parts even though only 2:23.
3. Song starts fast but soon degenerates into blabble, then chaotic screaming.
4. ***Straight up structure. Very indie. Intricate guitar. Love chorus section.
5. Dark, brooding guitar and spoken-word vocals @ beginning. Backing vocals drive song’s mood. Really good transitions from dark to hopeful at 2:00.
6. ***Wonderfully layered guitar will take you for a dreamy ride.
7. Ends w/ 15 sec. of silence. Unpredictable shout/talk/sing vocals. Several parts but doesn’t hold any one long enough for listener to get comfortable.
8. (Hidden track). Has the 4th song’s guitar running really, really soft for first minute—have to turn volume up all the way to hear it, but don’t b/c vocalist comes in at normal volume. Song has an evil dance beat to it.

Track Listing
1. One   4. Godzilla
2. These   5. Three
3. France   6. Chair
  7. Spain