Meissa / Entre Seine Et Sine
Album: Entre Seine Et Sine   Collection:World
Artist:Meissa   Added:Jan 2006
Label:Comet Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-03-05 Pull Date: 2006-05-07 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Apr 16 Apr 9 Apr 2 Mar 12
Airplays: 2 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 28, 2022: Music Casserole
Emma Payaville
4. Apr 10, 2006: No Cover, No Minimum
2. Dec 07, 2015: Clean Copper Radio COP TALK
5. Apr 04, 2006: Blues at the Cafe Bohemian
3. Apr 11, 2006: At the Cafe Bohemian
A Quoi Comment
6. Mar 28, 2006: at the Cafe Bohemian

Album Review
Reviewed 2006-03-02
A tribute to Leopold Sedar Senghor, the Senegalese poet and first president of the republic of Senegal, on the 100th anniversary of his birth. This works sets 10 of his works to music. In Wolof, Mandingo, and English. Meissa has a rich, strongly emotional voice and this entire work is inspiring and powerful. One star, each track. Many w/that changeable, narrative thread that songs from musicals have. Beware #10. It says it’s 10+ min long but it’s only 5:05…then basically silence (there’s some background wooshing…) then a bonus track at 6:20.

1. Midtempo & dark w/chorus and strings. Powerful, spiritual.
2. Sweet, lowkey, w/great cello accents, strings, and soaring vox.
3. Mostly midtempo, nice use of kora & perc. Driving & strong.
4. Falsetto/growl intro, midtempo, lyrical.
5. Lazy w/a sing-song feel at times. Very cool, touch of jazz.
6. Spare & relaxed w/soaring vox/kora/light perc
7. Accordion adds a café feel. Mid blend of Paris & Dakar.
8. Changing tempos, strings. There’s a story in here…
9. Midtempo, sweeping & lyrical. Nicely moving.
10. Starts slow & simple, gets sort of bright.
NOTE: Silence at 5:05 then at 6:06 you get a bonus track.

Track Listing
1. Depart   6. Je Viendrai
2. Femme Noire   7. Spleen
3. Joal   8. Emma Payaville
4. Interieur   9. Thiaroye
5. A Quoi Comment   10. L'ouragan