Mike K / A Simple Story Simply Told
Album: A Simple Story Simply Told   Collection:General
Artist:Mike K   Added:Apr 2006

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-01-21 Pull Date: 2007-03-25
Week Ending: Jan 28
Airplays: 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 27, 2007: Radio Experiment #4
Hannah Wilyu
2. Jan 22, 2007: Speak Me How to Teach
All Is Well

Album Review
Reviewed 2006-08-03
Hushed lo-fi singer / songwriter, with an occasional upbeat toe tapper amongst the ballads. Soft guitars and somewhat driving perc throughout with steady synths/strings and reverb underlying most songs to fill out the sound. Songs uniformly drag at end. FCC on 11.
Picks: 2, 8, 10, 11

1. Mid-low energy, standard with 20-sec intro. and outro.
2. ***Mid energy, sweet waltzy ditty with a smooth blend of 5/8 and 6/8
3. Upbeat, with peaked guitar over processed drum sounds. 10-sec intro
and outro.
4. Soft picked guitar ballad with great hollow perc in chorus. End drags on a bit.
5. Upbeat. Bouncy, with driving upbeats on the drums. 7-sec held note outro.
6. Soft 6/8 ballad. Long, with no surprises. 9-sec held note outro.
7. Quite soft acoustic. Builds to nice refrain. No perc. 40-sec outro(!)
8. *Syrupy, fuzzy guitar waltz, tempo increase for frantic end build.
27-sec outro.
9. Sireny filler
10. *Sunny, swung 6/8. Prominent acoustic strumming.
11. *FCC ind. Upbeat, 16th note cymbals
12. Sleepy acoustic song
13. Sticky, soft, soft layered vocals and upped sounds. 25-sec vamp out.

Track Listing
1. Pretty Sure   7. Quietening
2. All Is Well   8. Bright Future
3. We Are The Ones (Infinity, No Give-Backs)   9. Fatigue, Nausea, Aching Bones...
4. Nudity   10. Sleepwalker
5. Hannah Wilyu   11. Brokedown
6. Razorcloser   12. Slasher
  13. Paranoia