Lo, Cheikh / Lamp Fall
Album: Lamp Fall   Collection:World
Artist:Lo, Cheikh   Added:Apr 2006

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-05-21 Pull Date: 2006-07-23 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jul 23 Jul 16 Jul 9 Jul 2 Jun 25 Jun 18 Jun 11 Jun 4
Airplays: 2 2 1 2 1 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 20, 2012: The Doldrummer
Senegal-Bresil (Senegal-Brazil)
4. Jul 18, 2006: At the Cafe Bohemian
Lamp Fall (Light Of Fall)
2. May 06, 2008: Peace at the Cafe Bohemian
Kelle Magni (War Is Not Good)
5. Jul 18, 2006: New World Disorder
Lamp Fall (Light Of Fall)
3. Apr 29, 2008: At the Cafe Bohemian
Sou (The Night Of Love)
6. Jul 11, 2006: At the Cafe Bohemian - J-pop
Kelle Magni (War Is Not Good)

Album Review
Reviewed 2006-05-17
Excellent Afro-pop, flavored by Cuban, Brazilian, and French influences and all wrapped around Lo’s sweet, warm, slightly scratchy voice and guitar. He takes Senegal as his starting point, but his world travels are obviously showcased, and he’s joined by guests like Pee Wee Ellis on sax, Etienne M’bappe on bass and a Brazilian drum group – all of which add to the global sound. It was recorded in pieces around the world, and tend to feature lots of funky guitar riffs, cool perc, and hot horns. This CD kicks ass, one star (at least) each track. Holy cats!

1. Relaxed & sexy midtempo groove. So good!
2. Serious mid/up Afro funk w/sax, keyboards, bass/guitar. Yow!
3. Mostly midtempo bounce w/ lots of horns & cool perc.
4. Cool Afro-funk w/serious perc. Anti-war song.
5. Big ol’ Brazilian carnival drum jam. Hot, midtempo Afro-Samba.
6. A lazy Cuban sound (by way of Senegal), slowish, cool guitars.
7. Bright, light, midtempo sway w/a Cuban touch and a sweet sound.
8. Happy, uptempo m’balax-y dance track w/great horns/perc/strings.
9. Sweet, relaxed love song to his wife. Warm & lightly joyful.
10. Reggae beat accented by hot horns/talking drum/churchy organ.
11. Warm & swaying m’balax – cool drums, guitar, horns.
12. Alt. version of #4. I think 4 has a more driving funk sound.
13. Praise song w/ call/response w/female chorus. Drums.

Track Listing
1. Sou (The Night Of Love)   7. Tougayu M'bedd (Sitting In The Street All Day)
2. Lamp Fall (Light Of Fall)   8. N'galula
3. Xale (The Child)   9. Sama Kaani Xeen (My Strong Chili Pepper)
4. Kelle Magni (War Is Not Good)   10. Bamba Mo Woor (Bamba Is Sure)
5. Senegal-Bresil (Senegal-Brazil)   11. Fattaliku Demb (Remember The Past)
6. Sante Yalla (Thanks To Almighty God)   12. Kelle Magni Encore
  13. Zikroulah (Invoking The Name Of God)