Vanguard Jazz Orchestra, The / Up From The Skies
Album: Up From The Skies   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Vanguard Jazz Orchestra, The   Added:May 2006
Label:Planet Arts  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-07-30 Pull Date: 2006-10-01 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Sep 10 Sep 3 Aug 20 Aug 13 Aug 6
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 14, 2013: No Cover, No Minimum
Don't Even Ask!
4. Aug 18, 2006: No Cover, No Minimum
You Tell Me
2. Sep 08, 2006: No Cover, No Minimum
You Tell Me
5. Aug 10, 2006: Storytime!
Up From The Skies
3. Aug 31, 2006: Storytime!
Up From The Skies
6. Aug 07, 2006: Akinetic Mutism
You Tell Me

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2006-07-30
Modern big band. Glossy sound, as always, but I'm usually happy with the Vanguard's sound -- the composing is complex and reasonably fresh (well, mostly), and the solos crackle. Every track written by Jim McNeely, who is their composer-in-residence (I hadn't heard of him, either). Mostly fast tempos and sunny disposition.

1- Light and swingy
2- Perky start over chiming piano. Twisty lines, not too hyper
3- Very slow and delicate. Quiet piano start
4- Coolly fast, breezy
5- Slowish and swaying; heats up in the second half
6- Easygoing mid/fast, after a slow mysterious start. Breezy.
7- Fairly fast and brisk; builds gradually after a tense intro
8- Slowly inspirational, a bit too Disney in spots

Track Listing
1. Up From The Skies   5. Almost Always
2. The Life Of Riley   6. Hardly Ever
3. In This Moment   7. You Tell Me
4. Don't Even Ask!   8. We Will Not Be Silenced