Venom / Metal Black
Album: Metal Black   Collection:General
Artist:Venom   Added:May 2006
Label:Castle Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-05-21 Pull Date: 2006-07-23 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Jul 23 Jul 16 Jul 9 Jul 2 Jun 25 Jun 18 Jun 11 Jun 4
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 2 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 19, 2006: to heavy for titanium
Darkest Realm
4. Jun 29, 2006: to heavy for titanium
Darkest Realm
2. Jul 12, 2006: to heavy for titanium
A Good Day To Die
5. Jun 23, 2006: too heavy for titanium
Rege Satanas
3. Jul 04, 2006: to heavy for titanium
Rege Satanas
6. Jun 16, 2006: too heavy for titanium
Burn In Hell

Album Review
Ragnar of Ravensfjord
Reviewed 2007-08-05
Big, dumb & fun Black Metal from the first band to use the two words together. Though they’re paired down to only the original bassist/vocalist, Cronos they still create a pretty decent amount of “Arrrrgh!” A few modern touches like pinch harmonics and some nearly nu-meddle riffs. Far too many tracks that are OK to crap.

((((((1))))) Classic riff, great loud n’ ugly vocals.
((((2)))) Punkish delivery, catchy chorus. Awesome solos.
((3)) Modern riff, pinch harmonics. WTF? Waaay too simple, like they’re catching up with “the kids”
((((4)))) Thrashin’ mayhem with a lotta bass, solid but a tad redundant in the breakdown. Total 80’s hard rock solo.
((((5)))) Trudging through, simple sound of “hells rock n’ roll”
((((6)))) Heavy, quitessentially Venom – killer mix of the slow & slugging with strides towards thrash.
((((7)))) Rad guitar sound kinda clunky chorus.
(FCC “fucked up”)
((((8))) Basic riff, playing at mid-charge, vocal phrasing, similar to later-era Sodom.
((9)) Redundant as fuck-emulates the riff from the Alien Ant Farm hit – WTF?
((10)) Too much Confusion between thrash if it’s it’s thug metal. (FCC “fucked”, “shit”)
(((10))) Sludgey, trudgeing thick but dull as fuck.
(((11)))) Bulldozing riff, excellent bass sound
((((13)))) Totally modern sounding but Chronos vocals make this work fantastically.
(((((14))))) Black Fucking Thrash…Metal! Arrrggh!
(FCC “metal fucking black…” )

Track Listing
1. Antechrist   8. Assassin
2. Burn In Hell   9. Lucifer Rising
3. House Of Pain   10. Blessed Dead
4. Death & Dying   11. Hours Of Darkness
5. Rege Satanas   12. Sleep When I'm Dead
6. Darkest Realm   13. Maleficarvm
7. A Good Day To Die   14. Metal Black