DJ Drez / Jahta Beat
Album: Jahta Beat   Collection:World
Artist:DJ Drez   Added:May 2006
Label:Say It Loud  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-06-18 Pull Date: 2006-08-20 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Aug 20 Jul 23 Jul 16 Jul 9 Jul 2 Jun 25
Airplays: 1 2 2 4 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 21, 2023: Music Casserole
4. Sep 23, 2011: Music Casserole
Nya Sky
2. Jul 14, 2012: Bouge Mood
5. May 16, 2011: Moose Ain't Here Right Now
3. Jun 04, 2012: No Longer at Ease
6. Jul 24, 2010: Music Casserole
Voice, Morocco

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2006-05-23
DJ Drez – Jahta Beat (Sil Music)
Reviewed by Sadie O., 5/23/06
Hip hop DJ from LA does chill Indian and North African beats and flows – really well. It’s in World instead of Hip Hop because although it’s all chill production, the world instrumentations are totally dominant. Not unlike our local Cheb I-Sabbah, who’s passed through our a-file but with more Indian chill than Middle Eastern dance.
No FCC, but a bit of moaning on track 12. I like 2 and 5 best – all are pretty, most are really chill. None are bad, even if I didn’t * em.
1. 1:05 etherial and formless, Indian instrumentation drifting from one channel to the other.
2. 4:22 ***slow, swingy Bhangra beat, calm and flowing yet funky. Female vocals and sitar star.
3. 3:45 *slightly downtempo but very chill. Flute stars, a bit jazzy, also tabla and electronica.
4. 5:18 *slow with sitar and table and keyboards – male and female vocals sounding devotional. Some hip hop at end.
5. 3:46 ***midtempo, WAY funky, some street noises, funky North African horn
6. 4:13 *slow, chill, sitar, no beat for long intro, then flute and female vocals “you make me feel so good”…
7. 5:58 *downtempo, funky/jazzy, gorgeous female vocals. Turns English halfway through.
8. 5:19 drone and sitar, male carnatic singer, very devotional, chill, but with occasional uptempo Bhangra beat overlaid.
9. 3:44 *midtempo hip hop with some drone, some cosmic pronouncements and piano
10. 3:35 midtempo heartbeat riddim with handdrums, rainstick and piano (and something twangy).
11. 4:50 a bit downtempo, jazzy guitar and bass with devotional chanting and tabla.
12. 4:39 downtempo old-school hip hop beat, mixes in with vaguely Bhangra beat, cuica, flutes… a little bit of gratuitous moaning.
13. 2:47 *slightly uptempo tabla, hip hop beat, sitar
14. 4:06 downtempo, sounds like a didgeridoo, maybe a samba singer in the distance, very ethereal.
15. 4:47 **nyahbinghi drums and sitars
16. 2:15 **a bit uptempo, boopy, very random vocals
17. 4:30 **a bit uptempo with some urgency and mysterious horns. A bit of “Fantasia” feel.

Track Listing
1. Intro   8. InI
2. Voice   9. Inner Vision
3. The Road   10. Cinema7
4. She's Callin   11. Sela
5. Morocco   12. After The Rain
6. So Good   13. Time
7. Universe   14. Contact
  15. Nya Sky