Bookworm / Hidden Staircase 12", The
Album: Hidden Staircase 12", The   Collection:General
Artist:Bookworm   Added:May 2006
Label:Solos Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-05-21 Pull Date: 2006-07-23 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jul 9 Jul 2 Jun 25 Jun 18 Jun 11 May 28
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 5

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 25, 2011: microclimate
Since I Met You
4. Jun 23, 2006: Under the Radar
Since I Met You
2. Jul 05, 2006: brownian Motion
Since I Met You
5. Jun 21, 2006: Brownian Motion
Filler Song
3. Jun 28, 2006: Brownian Motion (sub)
Filler Song
6. Jun 17, 2006: Cognitive Overload
Untitled One

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2006-05-17
Very interesting expermimental sample-art mixing found sounds, sampled interviews, and jazz, trip-hop and electro, some sounding like a very advanced Portishead, others obtuse noise. Great stuff.

1) very brief commentary about crap music, nice
2) downtempo a bit electro, with samples from the Who, Billy Holiday/Sarah Vaughan type female vocs, over non-stop guitar arpeggios, dark noisey and creepy strange
3) starts with a voice sample, becomes a brief marching piece
4) proggy jazz sample/feel with dark looping swirling bass, brief
5) repeat of #1
6) dark tones start, then total Trip Hop feel a la Portishead but way more interesting, cool
7) long track: the Portishead trip hop flavor continues in a big way, with a Bjork sample, but then it quickly devolves to obscure spacey experimentalism, then back again where it treats the trip hop to point of unrecognizability then just experimental noise

Track Listing
1. Filler Song   6. Untitled One
2. Since I Met You   7. Since I Met You (Alive At Fake Cake)
3. Deathmetalbboy   8. Since I Met You (Yao's Kiribati Adjstmnt)
4. To The Sea   9. Since I Met You (Dj Enso Remix)
5. Filler Song   10. Since I Met You (Roche 7five Remix)