Masonic Youth / Ordo Ab Surd
Album: Ordo Ab Surd   Collection:General
Artist:Masonic Youth   Added:May 2006
Label:Resipiscent Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-05-28 Pull Date: 2006-07-30 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jul 23 Jul 2 Jun 25 Jun 18 Jun 11 Jun 4
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 7 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 19, 2007: Emphysema For Emphasis
The Haunted Lodge
4. Jun 28, 2006: Brownian Motion (sub)
Debirth Through Regressive Hypnosis
2. Dec 08, 2006: Carrots & Sticks... But Mostly Sticks
Debirth Through Regressive Hypnosis
5. Jun 23, 2006: Under the Radar
3. Jul 22, 2006: On The Warpath
John The Baptist Song
6. Jun 21, 2006: Brownian Motion
Debirth Through Regressive Hypnosis

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2006-05-24
Creepy cinematic (as in sci-fi horror) experimental noise, old school industrial feel, loops, drones, analog synth and tape delay. All tracks radio-friendly in length, interesting if not creepy. No artist credits on one-sheet or cd liner, but as this is a product of local label Respiscent I wouldn’t be surprised if this dropped from the bleeding vagina of a recording studio brutally raped by maurading members of Caroliner/Sun City Girls, et al.

1) dark spooky sparseness
2) very cool noise coming in waves, plumes, creepy
3) plodding soundtrack to a slime monster devouring a bomb destroyed city
4) more subdued and ambient, very cinematic, dark
5) starts with a rooster crow, more hands-on feel with identifiable sounds of glass, a familiar synth tone
6) somewhat blippy, still creepy
7) some cool buried word samples with radio broadcast quality, very creepy, gets noisey
8) near-ambient white noise with low tone to start, evolves with mild high tones, some sparse backwards word samples, nice, chill but creepy

Track Listing
1. Bad Alchemy   5. The Haunted Lodge
2. Debirth Through Regressive Hypnosis   6. 6332
3. Magik Van U Een Lift Meneer?   7. John The Baptist Song
4. Bilderberg Templars   8. Cryptogram Vooroswald