Necropolis / Hacked Ruff & Shoulder Mane, The
Album: Hacked Ruff & Shoulder Mane, The   Collection:General
Artist:Necropolis   Added:Jul 2006
Label:Columbus Discount Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-07-16 Pull Date: 2006-09-17
Week Ending: Sep 17 Sep 10 Aug 27 Aug 20 Aug 13 Aug 6 Jul 30 Jul 23
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 4 3 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 13, 2006: Brownian Motion
Colors & #S
4. Aug 22, 2006: The Top Shelf
Colors & #S
2. Sep 06, 2006: Brownian Motion
The Governors Wife
5. Aug 15, 2006: The Top Shelf (special in studio performance with The Flatbread Kids)
The Governors Wife
3. Aug 24, 2006: Baptism of Solitude
The Governors Wife
6. Aug 12, 2006: Under the Radar
To The Bar

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2006-07-18
Hipster rock from Columbus Ohio, angular no-wavey dissonant driving rock, all the right usage of noise and synths. Fans of James Chance and the Contortions, XTC, The Fall, Scratch Acid, Gang of Four, Ex Models, The Fucking Ocean, Dog Faced Hermans, take note. While definitely derivative it still comes across fresh, spontaneous and the genuine article. Good stuff.

1) James Chance No-Wave dissont funk art wave, with cool synth solo near end
2) upbeat marching total nod to The Fall, with female vocs, subtle noise at end
3) driving rock, new wave meets Scratch Acid, with a hand-held tape recorder/feedback noise fest at the end
4) upbeat, noise rock, Contortions
5) noise: hand held tape recording of whats probably a practice jam, treated at end
6) somewhat more indie rock feel, still noisey with the effects and desperate voc
7) female vocs, more chill near plain indie pop
8) urgent but swallowed beat, minor spy feel, new wavey pogo’ing
9) noisey epic intro to something that feels like Wire at first but then plain good rockin, with a shift midway to upbeat no-wave, then back to a lovely dissonant hip swinging rock beat
10) fun driving beat, pop, whiffs of XTC, track ends with 2:20 remaining, then with 3 seconds left theres a cough, a stupid cough. Why do bands do stupid shit like that? Goddamn if the “hidden track” wasn’t over in 1994

Track Listing
1. Driving The Interstate   6. Innerspace
2. Stalking Mark E Smith Around Nyc   7. The Knife Song
3. Colors & #S   8. To The Bar
4. Ultraviolet   9. The Governors Wife
5. Cea 1620   10. Cloud 151