Wativ / Baghdad Music Journal
Album: Baghdad Music Journal   Collection:General
Artist:Wativ   Added:Aug 2006
Label:High Mayhem  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-09-03 Pull Date: 2006-11-05 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Nov 5 Oct 22 Oct 15 Oct 8 Oct 1 Sep 17 Sep 10
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 05, 2006: Multiple Personality Disorder
Dim Blue Voices
4. Oct 08, 2006: Multiple Personality Disorder
2. Oct 29, 2006: Multiple Personality Disorder
5. Oct 06, 2006: Memory Select
3. Oct 15, 2006: Multiple Personality Disorder
Dim Blue Voices
6. Sep 28, 2006: Cognitive Overload
Follow Our Orders

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2006-09-05
Avante experimentalism, not noisey, instead piano driven; more along the lines of Birdsongs of the Mesozoic, The Residents in an ambient mood, ending with downtown Manhattan avante jazz. A moment of good progginess midway is underscored by certain avante jazz in the end. Incorporates samples gathered by a soldier in Iraq, but not blatantly so (i.e. doesn’t lower itself to novelty), recorded back home as part of the New Mexico High Mayhem art collective.

1) looping sparse melodies, radio static samples/voices
2) ambient, minor keyed vibes, reeds, filmic
3) looping dark piano/synth, glitchy Birdsongs of the Mesozoic feel
4) dark piano ambience with upright bass sample takes a decidedly prog feel midway, play as intro to new Soft Machine cd
5) dark fuzzy loop with plodding dark piano, voice sample looping
6) swingy piano, with drums, dissonant
7) dark cello/bass string melody with piano, more of an idea than a piece
8) very reverby bass, piano, horn, drums meanderings, avante jazzlike
8) another slow to develop sparse improv between sax/piano/bass/drums

Track Listing
1. Post Election News   5. Cp Fx
2. Pasteur Peace   6. Dim Blue Voices
3. Follow Our Orders   7. Mid Tour Prelude #1
4. Golombisky   8. Mid Tour Prelude #2
  9. Mid Tour Prelude #3