Guillemots / From The Cliffs
Album: From The Cliffs   Collection:General
Artist:Guillemots   Added:Aug 2006
Label:Fantastic Plastic  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-04-15 Pull Date: 2007-06-17
Week Ending: Jun 3 May 27 Apr 29 Apr 22
Airplays: 1 1 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 13, 2011: There and Back Again
Trains To Brazil
4. Apr 28, 2007: Biff Bang Pow
Trains To Brazil
2. Jun 01, 2007: Rorschach's Dance
Trains To Brazil
5. Apr 25, 2007: Sound And Fury
Trains To Brazil
3. May 22, 2007: Sound and Fury
My Chosen One
6. Apr 23, 2007: Something about music
Trains To Brazil

Album Review
Scott Coomes
Reviewed 2007-04-01
Guillemots: From the Cliffs (Verve)
Brit-pop. Stratightforward twee-rock, although the male vox are a little closer to rock. Lots of piano, some scattered samples, a little sax + xylophone + synth strings. Laid-back feel. Songs get a little boring after a few moments. Samples that whisper during the quiet moments gives the vanilla sound a little depth.
Play #7, 2 No Fccs.
1) 0:39 - short piano intro track.
2) 4:03 - midtempo twee pop. Playground noises sampled in beginning. Brass enters at 1:57. nostalgic, but sorta rock.
3) 3:34 – starts w/ various samples. Repeating synth melody. Soft, down-tempo. Picks up at 1:08. slows down about 0:40 from end.
4) 9:02 – starts w/ soft confused swirls…then turns into middle school slow dance. Organs; occasional piano/whistle/mandolin swells (which are kinda cool); light snare percussion. Dies out into whisps about 1:00 from end.
5) 5:02 – starts w/ sample from a restaurant. Xylophone, digital noises. Mid-tempo brit-pop. Piano driven. Sax solo.
6) 6:44 –quiet piano pop. Sensitive, but childish w/ xylophone. Ethereal female vox low in mix. Adult contemporary easy-listening jazz.
7) 7:46 –marimba, sax. rock-steady feel. Vibrato, scratchy guitars. loudest track. Gets quiet around 4:06 for a moment.
8) 3:13 – quiet, pensive, soft, piano with sensitive vox; returns to feel of #1. syrupy, but that never hurt anybody, right? Sounds like something you would hear on the finale of a teen-drama tv series.

Track Listing
1. Sake   5. Who Left The Light Off, Baby?
2. Trains To Brazil   6. Cats Eyes
3. Made Up Lovesong #43   7. Go Away
4. Over The Stairs   8. My Chosen One