Mustang Lightning / Texas Voodoo Surf
Album: Texas Voodoo Surf   Collection:General
Artist:Mustang Lightning   Added:Aug 2006

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-08-27 Pull Date: 2006-10-29
Week Ending: Sep 3
Airplays: 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 31, 2006: New World Disorder
Haunted House
3. Aug 28, 2006: Scatterbrain Radio
Barbed Wire
2. Aug 29, 2006: Radio Of Imagination
Haunted House
4. Aug 22, 2006: New World Disorder
Whiz Bang Whimsy

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2006-08-21
Reviewed by Sadie O., 8/21/06
Surf twang skatepunk. Mostly instrumentals, mostly very 60’s twist kinda sound, mostly very similar sounding. It happens to be a sound I dig the mostest, man…
NB: almost every has the cutoff between tracks in the wrong place. Be prepared to hit Off a couple of seconds early…
No FCCs. I like track 11 cause I love very early Who, but the first couple of cuts are great too, and most of the rest are solid surf/skate.
1. 2:19 ***starts with car revving, uptempo heavy surf instrumental with groovy syncopated woodblock and gnarly bass.
2. 3:14 ***starts with a bit of talking, downtempo twangy bop with a bit of screaming. The cutoff between this track and the next one is about 4 seconds early, which sucks for both tracks…
3. 1:31 *starts a bit cut off, per above. Pure punk with horse snorts
4. 4:01 **downtempo, Cramps-like groove with a bit more twang. Some talking over instrumental. Beware of improper cutoff at end.
5. 2:28 **drum ‘n’ bass, punky. Minimalist singing.
6. 1:59 **groovy rock ‘n’ roll with accordion. Tex-Hex!
7. 2:08 **uptempo surf twang. Very Ventures.
8. 1:53 **midtempo twist and skate. Yee haw!
9. 2:20 **midtempo twist surf with reverb.
10. 2:53 **starts with footsteps and talking, midtempo surf beat cover with guitar solo
11. 3:03 ****sounds very much like very early Who. Lots of vocals.
12. 2:25 **midtempo twist, ends a few seconds early with random sounds.
13. 1:05 **midtempo cowpoke beat with skatepunk guitar and rather goofy song.
14. 3:11 ***odd start, groovy 60’s proto-punk sound. Ends with a few seconds of guitar that belong to the next track.
15. untitled bonus 19 seconds, solo guitar, rather pretty actually.

Track Listing
1. Jack Ball   8. The Bull
2. Haunted House   9. Guitaro
3. Fightin Mustangs   10. Good Bad Ugly
4. Cattle Mutalation   11. Whiz Bang Whimsy
5. It Moves   12. Texas Voodoo Surf
6. Slow Walk   13. I'm Dead
7. Barbed Wire   14. Fallin