Lovely Public, The / Burning Tape At A Mystery Dinner
Album: Burning Tape At A Mystery Dinner   Collection:General
Artist:Lovely Public, The   Added:Oct 2006
Label:Wall Of Noise Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-05-20 Pull Date: 2007-07-22
Week Ending: Jul 22 Jul 15 Jul 8 Jul 1 Jun 24 Jun 17 Jun 10 Jun 3
Airplays: 2 1 1 3 3 2 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 24, 2010: Scatterbrain Radio
Delicious Surprise Kisses
4. Jan 24, 2009: Scatterbrain Radio
2. May 09, 2009: Scatterbrain Radio
5. Jan 03, 2009: Scatterbrain Radio
Game Of Opposites
3. Mar 21, 2009: Scatterbrain Radio
Delicious Surprise Kisses
6. Dec 06, 2008: Scatterbrain Radio
Game Of Opposites

Album Review
Natalie Ruiz Tofano
Reviewed 2007-05-21
LOCAL! Based in SF, the Lovely Public draw from multiple genres including indie rock, experimental pop, psych rock, and more! I imagine they are a really great band to see live. Each song has a different sound and structure – some are crazy fun psych rock, others have a lighter pop sound. Heavy bass lines and complex guitars throughout. Most songs focus on instrumentation rather than vocals. This is their debut album.
NO FCCs Favs – 3-5,7,8,10
1 – starts dark and slow w/heavy electro bass and distant vocals; mixture of sleepy guitar, heavy bass, dream pop electro sounds
2 – talking, repetitive multiple vocals; driving midtempo bass and drums, very rhythmic (1.26min)
3! – more upbeat, with heavy psych rock sections; great mix of male/fem vox, complex electric guitar sections; song varies throughout! Great sound.
4!! – starts w/great mixture of driving guitar and distorted keyboards(?); changes to sleepy, mellow retro psych rock w/heavy bass and organ, then builds into next song (ends suddenly)
5!! – yea! Starts suddenly fr/previous track; upbeat and rockin’ w/interludes of crazy electro keyboards, and ends with mellower psych/spacey instrumental section of distorted guitars and electro sounds
6 – instrumental - 1st half is mellow w/droned/reverbed, spacey guitars and keyboards; builds into faster section w/heavy driving bass and ends w/same spacey sound as beginning
7! – more indie rock than others; upbeat w/sections of heavy, fast drums and loud, rockin’ electric guitar; male/fem vox
8! – midtempo; a lighter sound w/soft electric guitar and airy vox; fades into next track
9 – mellow instrumental – repetitive heavy organ sound w/soft electro keyboards (1.11min)
10!! – upbeat and more poppy than others; mostly instrumental, w/slower sections of sweet and soft vocals; awesome variations throughout song (track ends at 4.50min)

Track Listing
1. What Works For You (Will Work For Food)   6. Burning The Tape
2. Preparations   7. Pick Your Noose
3. Dinner Chatter   8. The Panic Son (Arrives)
4. Game Of Opposites   9. The Twilight Unreels
5. Delicious Surprise Kisses   10. Pillow