Kid Beyond / Amplivate
Album: Amplivate   Collection:General
Artist:Kid Beyond   Added:Nov 2006
Label:Love-Million Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-11-26 Pull Date: 2007-01-28 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Jan 28 Jan 14 Jan 7 Dec 31 Dec 24 Dec 17 Dec 10 Dec 3
Airplays: 3 2 1 2 2 6 3 6

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 24, 2014: Happy Hour
I Shall Be Free
4. Jan 27, 2007: New World DIsorder
Mothership (Mutaytor Dublab Remix)
2. Jan 03, 2013: Happy Hour
I Shall Be Free
5. Jan 25, 2007: public noize racket
3. Sep 25, 2008: Happy Hour
I Shall Be Free
6. Jan 23, 2007: Storytime
Wandering Star

Album Review
Sadie McFarlane
Reviewed 2006-12-06
Kid Beyond – Amplivate (Love-Million)
Reviewed by Sadie O., 11/17/06
Human beatboxing taken to the Nth, layered and distorted, dubbed, and then sung over. The lyrics tend to the hippie-ish, but the beats are rock solid.
FCC? It sounds like he may be saying “shit” a couple times on track 2, but I think it’s just “ship” as in Mothership…
I like 2 and the remix on 6 best, but it’s all pretty goddamn good.
1. 3:56 ***soft, ethereal electronics intro, beat hits much louder after about 20 secs. Some clearly human beatbox sounds, slow groove, pretty male vocals.
2. 3:13 ****spaceship lifting intro, midtempo hardcore beat, fun vocals. Metal hip hop beatbox – call me Fred, but I love this sound.
3. 5:05 **starts with panting noises, then somewhat relaxed and swingy groove.
4. 6:13 ***beat builds slowly, sort of a slow blues, hippie lyrics. Some really cool harmonies as well.
5. 3:53 ***remix of track 1, more sci-fi soundtrack noises and dubbed up vocals. Music cuts out in middle and there are vocal harmonies and a second or two of silence.
6. 4:45 ****remix of track 2 with different intro, lots of echo and reverb, beat comes in after quite a while.
7. 5:06 ***remix of track 3, odd noises intro, then downtempo dub reggae beat, a bit subdued. Vocals mostly cut out and dub pumped up, which makes this MUCH better than the original track.
8. 4:01 **another remix of track 1, intro seems like strings here, beat is much more subdued.

Track Listing
1. Wandering Star   5. Wandering Star (Hypnomadic Remix)
2. Mothership   6. Mothership (Mutaytor Dublab Remix)
3. Deep Inside   7. Deep Inside (Dj Jethro Remix)
4. I Shall Be Free   8. Wandering Star (Aspect Mccarthy Remix)