Jackson, Keefe/Fast Citizens / Ready Everyday
Album: Ready Everyday   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Jackson, Keefe/Fast Citizens   Added:Nov 2006
Label:Delmark Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-11-19 Pull Date: 2007-01-21 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jan 21 Jan 7 Dec 31 Dec 17 Dec 10 Nov 26
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 27, 2009: Jena & Gomorrah
Pax Urbanum
4. Dec 29, 2006: Memory Select
2. Jan 19, 2007: Memory Select
Saying Yes
5. Dec 15, 2006: No Cover, No Minimum
Ready Everyday
3. Jan 04, 2007: Lines and Dots
6. Dec 08, 2006: Memory Select - Album Week

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2006-11-24
Almost straight jazz with touches of wild cello playing from Fred Lonberg-Holm. Actually, most of the set could be considered "straight," even though it gets pretty wild -- it's bebop-minded work with strong horns, high energy levels, and healthy solos. Here and there, Holm's cello ferocity helps give it an extra edge (2,7).

1- A bit swingy; a nicely straight mid/fast one
2- Abrasive electric-cello groove, into crisp mid/fast bebop. Lots of energy, nice crashing drums. Strong theme ends it.
3- Slow, thoughtful
4- Chaotic, mildly: the band lunges about, cross-soloing after a short composed line. Quiet start with pizzacatto cello.
5- Chipper, upbeat, midtempo feel. Cool counterpoint interlude in the middle for the horns, then a bit faster for solos.
6- Slower, artsy first half. Jazzier second half, midtempo.
7- Bright midtempo, gets into a vicious jam for the first solo. Peppy and driven.

Track Listing
1. Ready Everyday   4. Blackout
2. Signs   5. Saying Yes
3. Band Theme   6. Pax Urbanum
  7. Course