Holland, Dave Quintet / Critical Mass
Album: Critical Mass   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Holland, Dave Quintet   Added:Nov 2006
Label:Sunnyside Communications  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-11-19 Pull Date: 2007-01-21 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jan 21 Dec 3 Nov 26
Airplays: 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 28, 2019: Clean Copper Radio
Lucky Seven
4. Nov 28, 2006: Mood Swings
Amator Silenti
2. Nov 17, 2016: No Cover, No Minimum
Full Circle
5. Nov 24, 2006: Memory Select
Lucky Seven
3. Jan 19, 2007: Memory Select
Lucky Seven
6. Nov 24, 2006: No Cover, No Minimum
Lucky Seven

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2006-11-24

Mainstream combo led by the veteran bassist Holland. Lots of soft horns that can be a bit cheesy, but the overall groove and feel work for me. Heavy presence of vibes and marimba keeps the whole session in a relaxed groove, kind of a glassy package. Chris Potter turns in some interesting solos on sax.

1- Swingy, a bit cheesy, mid/fast.
2- Mid/fast, kind of a clockwork feel. Cool sax solo near end.
3- Coolly complex popping theme, good sax solo
4- Sly midtempo
5- Slinky mid/fast calmness, w/Persian influence. sax gets a bit "sweet" near the end.
6- Coolly quasi-Latin, in 7/8. Bouncy mid/fast, easygoing.
7- Easy march of notes over pattering drums. Calm and a bit '70s retro-? After 4 minutes, drops into a dry groove for some nice solos.
8- Slowish sunset music, with long, quiet vibes intro. Halfway, plunges into a chaotic free interlude.

Track Listing
1. The Eyes Have It   5. Secret Garden
2. Easy Did It   6. Lucky Seven
3. Vicissitudes   7. Full Circle
4. The Leak   8. Amator Silenti