Beenie Man / Live In San Francisco
Album: Live In San Francisco   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Beenie Man   Added:Nov 2006
Label:2B1 Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2006-11-19 Pull Date: 2007-01-21 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jan 7 Dec 31 Dec 24 Dec 17 Dec 3 Nov 26
Airplays: 1 1 3 1 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 06, 2017: Everything A to Z Week 109
Murderer, Burn Di Chronic, Freedom, Heaven Vs. Hell, Blessed, Gimme Da Gal, Badman, Intro
4. Dec 22, 2006: Nightmares
2. Jan 02, 2007: New World Disorder
5. Dec 20, 2006: Play This Only At Night
3. Dec 26, 2006: New World Disorder
Send Dem
6. Dec 19, 2006: New World Disorder
Haters & Fools

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2006-11-19
Beenie Man – Live in San Francisco
Reviewed by Sadie O., 11/18/06
Top dancehall rapper live at the Maritime Hall (don’t know the date). Songs run together, which is a good thing because they’re mostly quite short. However, if you put them on continuous play, beware of the FCCs on tracks 11, 13,18, and “nigga” on tracks 1, 13, 17, 19, 24. Music is often very minimalist and disjointed, nonetheless interesting, and Beenie Man is a truly manic rapper. I like 14, 19 and 22 best.
1. *short spoken intro, downtempo minimalist skank with cool noises. A few uses of “nigga”, and echo of “this” sounds just like “shit” – ha!
2. *Live sounds, odd noises, and intro of Beenie Man (includes shout out to San Francisco)
3. ***rather uptempo dancehall bounce – undecipherable lyrics, but fun sound. Bit of rock and roll piano near end.
4. **somewhat uptempo, backing vocals are a bit muffled, but fun song with nice harmonies.
5. ***lots of upful toasting, midtempo dancehall skank although music is very minimal, but lyrics are strong.
6. *anti-modernism Rasta lecture with occasional bass and guitar.
7. **minimalist midtempo skank – mostly crazed Rasta preaching.
8. *** lots more nutted dancehall toasting, slightly uptempo skank.
9. ** Machine-gun drums, doomful lyrics. Downtempo, dubby skank.
10. *odd uptempo then midtempo exchange.
11. FCC - “fuckin’ fool.” Not the best cut, anyway.
12. *crazed, rambling, short. Interesting enough…
13. FCC – “fuckin” nonsense vocals intro, “niggas wanna kill me for my bitches”
14. ***Spoken hyperspeed rant, crazed but short
15. *midtempo, music craps out and comes back – seems to be random bits of different songs
16. ****uptempo soca, fun music, all about Carnival. Ends with the old MGM movie trumpet flourish – nuts!
17. ***midtempo and a bit random dancehall – fun song, but uses “nigga”.
18. FCC - “Fuck” right at end. quirky intro, the music cuts out for Rasta preaching.
19. ***Minimalist music, downtempo and downbeat. Live version of track 1 – uses “niggas” occasionally, but serious stuff.
20. ****electronica intro, highspeed guitar plucking, nonsense lyrics,
21. ***fake sitar, midtempo dancehall
22. ****toy piano and midtempo skank, nutted rap. Bit of Bob Marley cover, although lord knows Beenie can’t sing… ends with Rasta prayer.
23. ***nice keyboard intro, minimalist midtempo beat, audience interaction, odd song, lots of crazy bits, wacky ending.
24. **uptempo oddball riddim, hyperactive rap, occasional “nigga”.

Track Listing
1. Haters & Fools (Remix)   13. Ain't Going Out Like That
2. Intro   14. Bad Man
3. Badman   15. A No Like We
4. Gimme Da Gal   16. Carnival
5. Blessed   17. Girls Dem Sugar
6. Heaven Vs. Hell   18. Look Into My Eyes
7. Freedom   19. Haters & Fools
8. Burn Di Chronic   20. Has The World Gone Mad
9. Murderer   21. $100 Bag
10. Tell Me   22. Send Dem
11. Fire Burn   23. Gun Shot
12. Everything   24. Girls Dem Sugar