Mingus Big Band / Live In Tokyo
Album: Live In Tokyo   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Mingus Big Band   Added:Nov 2006
Label:Sue Mingus Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-02-18 Pull Date: 2007-04-22 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Apr 22 Apr 8 Apr 1 Mar 18 Mar 4 Feb 25
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 23, 2014: Jump, Jive, and Jazz
Bird Calls
4. Apr 06, 2007: Memory Select
Opus Four
2. May 12, 2010: Sunshine ... in the Afternoon
Prayer For Passive Resistance
5. Mar 27, 2007: Cincinnati Kid
Prayer For Passive Resistance
3. Apr 16, 2007: Ducks as a metaphor
Wham Ban
6. Mar 16, 2007: No Cover, No Minimum

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-02-11
Mainstream stuff: A big band whose mission is to keep Charles Mingus' music and legacy alive. It's got that contempo club sound -- slick and smoothed over, but still packs some punch. Lacks the revolutionary edge of the originals, but there's still plenty of good playing on here. Tracks are mostly mid/fast; they're all quite good. Instrumental; FCC clean.

1- Fast
2- Fast, with a swingy punch
3- Fast, rather sweet
4- Goofy bird calls (vocals and saxes), then a fast jam including some criss-crossing sax solos.
5- Creeping theme, mid/fast but heavy like morning fog. Gets more swingy after the intro. Bass solo opens.
6- Bluesy, slinky
7- Mid/fast and breezy, with flute
8- Gospel cooldown, with spirited preaching up front

Track Listing
1. Wham Ban   5. Meditations
2. Opus Four   6. Prayer For Passive Resistance
3. Celia   7. Free Cell Block F
4. Bird Calls   8. Ecclusiastics