Dark Side Of The Cop / Dark Side Of The Cop
Album: Dark Side Of The Cop   Collection:General
Artist:Dark Side Of The Cop   Added:Dec 2006
Label:Auger Down Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-02-04 Pull Date: 2007-04-08
Week Ending: Apr 1 Feb 11
Airplays: 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 30, 2007: Cincinnati Kid
Shaky Little Rules
3. Feb 08, 2007: Fiction Romance
Flying Fists And Flashing Lights
2. Feb 10, 2007: Biff Bang Pow
Shaky Little Rules
4. Feb 05, 2007: Municipal Waste
Love Me From Above

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-01-30
Electro-acoustic pop, with sugary male vocals. Low-fi sparse feel saves it for sure. Promo sticker says it’s a concept piece based on Beverly Hills Cop (huh?). Local band (I think), they have nailed that perfect cutesy electro pop feel (single tones on a Casio or a Vox, simple beats) crossed with a Beck-like acoustic approach, and “precious”, near-whispered vocals. Belle and Sebastian and Ladytron put in a front-loading dryer together. Misleading band-name (at least to my weird-ass), I could see these guys playing on the big stage with Mates of State at Coachella in a year (if they renamed themselves “Fuzzy Electric Boy-Kitten”). Theres something classic pop about all this (like I’m expecting to all of the sudden hear “…alone again, naturally”).

1) minimal beat with acoustic guit, then Vox organ
2) precious indie-pop vocal centered, slow plodding, shifts to a swingy schmaltzy feel
3) electro, poppy, peppy
4) slower, arpeggio guitar feel
5) piano ballad, minimal electronic noise appears
6) vocal centered, slow 70’s ballad “…when she passed away, I cried and cried all day, alone again, naturally”
7) clean electric guitar, synth, minimal drums, upbeat
8) epic pop, beatles beach boys Bacharach, vocal melody, harmony heavy
9) spoken word over some trippy synth tones, schmaltzy beat appears, brief
10) upbeat poppy, lots going on, mid paced
11) ballady, acoustic guitar feel, classic pop feel
12) vocal centered, piano bed
13) treated downtempo beat, epic

Track Listing
1. Detroit (Prelude)   7. California
2. Stuck In The Darkness   8. Fool In The Hills
3. Shaky Little Rules   9. Like A Realist Painter (Interlude)
4. Childhood   10. Love Me From Above
5. Don't Be Jealous   11. Sugar Farmer
6. Paradise Lost And Found   12. Little Things
  13. Flying Fists And Flashing Lights