Swan Lake / Beast Moans
Album: Beast Moans   Collection:General
Artist:Swan Lake   Added:Jan 2007

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-01-28 Pull Date: 2007-04-01
Week Ending: Apr 1 Mar 25 Mar 18 Mar 11 Mar 4 Feb 25 Feb 18 Feb 11
Airplays: 3 4 2 1 1 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 04, 2015: A Visit From Drum (All My Friends Are Animals)
All Fires
4. Jun 23, 2009: The n00b Hour
All Fires
2. Jun 04, 2015: A Visit From Drum
All Fires
5. Apr 29, 2008: I once was Canadian
All Fires
3. May 31, 2013: FOLKTRONICA
All Fires
6. Jan 29, 2008: I once was Canadian
All Fires

Album Review
Reviewed 2007-04-01
Indie rock supergroup with noisy, disorienting and experimental elements. Swan Lake consists of Dan Bejar (Destroyer, New Pornographers), Spencer King (Wolf Parade), Cary Mercer (Frog Eyes). Often has disorienting vocals (many slightly off-time on top of one another) and instrumentation (many layers, distorted or echoed).
My picks 5!, 1, 3, 7, 8 , 12 FCC: 3, 4, 10, 12, 13
1. med-fast. building up guitars and ‘ah’ vocals. layers of keyboards, guitars, drums, vocals.
2. dark and dissonant. acoustic guitar, carnival sounding bells, distorted guitars. Chorus vocals.
3. FCC (“fucked” at 3:42 left) steady guitar as a base with here-and-there guitars and drums over top. Disorienting vocals on top. Ends with noisy distorted guitar
4. FCC (“shit at 3:40 left) starts with heavy bass. Piano here and there throughout in addition to layers of voices, keyboards and guitars
5. med-slow reverbed guitars and vocals. fast-picked guitars under everything. Just a beautiful; one of the best tracks of 2006.
6. Jaunty and yet disorienting. Sounds like a drunken carnival in your nightmare
7. starts just acoustic guitar and vocals. background guitars and piano later.
8. rumbling drums. Prominent organ.
9. med-slow. echoed guitars, organ near the end.
10. FCC (“shit” multiple times)
11. ringing bells, rumbling drums, fast picked guitars
12. FCC (“fucking” at 2:40 and 2:36 left) acoustic guitar alone alternates with more built up parts of the song. nice vocals and melody.
13. FCC (“shit” multiple times) vocals way in the background, so it’s hard to tell. Lots of distortion throughout.

Track Listing
1. Widow's Walk   7. The Freedom
2. Nubile Days   8. Petersburg, Liberty Theater, 1914
3. City Calls   9. The Pollenated Girls
4. A Venue Called Rubella   10. Bluebird
5. All Fires   11. Pleasure Vessels
6. The Partisan But He's Got To Know   12. Are You Swimming In Her Pools?
  13. Shooting Rockets