Woggles, The / Rock And Roll Backlash
Album: Rock And Roll Backlash   Collection:General
Artist:Woggles, The   Added:Feb 2007
Label:Wicked Cool Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-04-22 Pull Date: 2007-06-24
Week Ending: Jun 24 Jun 10 Jun 3 May 27 May 20 May 13 May 6 Apr 29
Airplays: 1 2 3 2 2 3 6 4

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 13, 2022: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Time Of My Own
4. Jun 19, 2007: Lost and Found
Blasting Cap
2. Oct 12, 2011: Buford J. Sharkley's Themeless Escapades
There Goes Danger
5. Jun 09, 2007: New World Disorder
Black Sheep
3. Jul 21, 2011: Summertime Sunshine
Black Sheep
6. Jun 06, 2007: Time Traveler
I Gotta Go Now

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2007-04-23
Woggles, The – Rock and Roll Backlash
Reviewed by Sadie O., 4/20/07
Really well done and extremely enjoyable 60’s-style rock. This record is so much fun it made me happy EVEN AT WORK. Mostly garage rock with tons of energy and youthful rebellion (the last track sums it all up) – also lots of dance, British Invasion, deep hippie thoughts, and even some Tijuana Brass.
No FCCs. Track 12 kills – everything should be assumed to have 2 stars more than shown.
1. 3:38 ***60’s rocking Philly Soul sound – pounding drums, great energy.
2. 2:42 **just a smidge to one side of “All Day and All of the Night”.
3. 3:15 **anthemic 60’s pop a la Who, vocal harmonies. Gee, I got that “Who” call right – there’s a bit of “A Quick One” in the middle…
4. 3:18 **downbeat folk psychedelia intro, turns midtempo rocker quickly.
5. 3:37 ***starts with a few seconds of party noises, then midtempo farfisa-based frug-a-jerk-a-gogo. Dance party!
6. 2:39 **more early Kinks guitar sound, great rebel without a cause lyrics.
7. 4:21 ***Spanish guitar flourish – the bullfight is about to begin… (I wrote that before I noticed the title – geeze, am I on a roll?) Herb Alpert trumpet, slow, dramatic – with rather goofy lyrics in Spanish…
8. 2:15 **garage-style proto-punk.
9. 3:01 **reverb-drenched intro, uptempo garage rock with nutty vocals and pseudo-deep hippie lyrics. Twisting on acid!
10. 3:20 **guess what? More high-energy garage rock! Gosh, it’s like being forced to listen to one Count Five song after another. Just SOOOO harsh.. heh!
11. 3:39 ***funky soul strut British Invasion “blues”. Dress up and shake a tail feather!
12. 3:03 ****Damn, that steamrolled rock and roll straight over me before I had a chance to see it coming!

Track Listing
1. Rock And Roll Backlash   7. El Toro
2. It?S Not About What I Want (It?S What You Got)   8. Sayonara Blues
3. Porridge   9. The World Is Falling
4. There Goes Danger   10. Time Of My Own
5. I Gotta Go Now   11. Black Sheep
6. Drive On   12. Blasting Cap