Cloud Cult / Meaning Of 8, The
Album: Meaning Of 8, The   Collection:General
Artist:Cloud Cult   Added:May 2007

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-05-20 Pull Date: 2007-07-22
Week Ending: Jul 22 Jun 10 Jun 3 May 27
Airplays: 1 1 2 6

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 20, 2016: Viewer Discretion is Advised
A Good God
4. Sep 02, 2009: Live From Six Feet Underground
Please Remain Calm, Take Your Medicine
2. Mar 21, 2010: Lovable Characters, Stupid Dialogue
Chemicals Collide
5. Jul 12, 2009: Jokers Wild
Chemicals Collide
3. Oct 30, 2009: Radiophonic
Dance For The Dead
6. Jul 19, 2007: At Your Local Dive
Please Remain Calm

Album Review
Reviewed 2007-05-12
Eclectic fully orchestrated and quirky indie pop often with strong vocal harmonies. 7th(?) release from this Minnesota band. Fully orchestrated at parts with a wide variety of instruments. Emphasis on harmony vocals. Overly earnest vocals at times. Often multi-parted songs. This is the sort of album, I’m sure some people find amazing. It’s a good listen, in my opinion.
-Adrian FCC: clean?
my picks: 3, 4, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16
1. starts with drums and percussion. horrible use of tanpura pisses me off. once that's done, a nice song
2. dancey indie rock. chunky guitars. fun song.
3. med-slow and hypnotic. more rocky part about halfway through.
4. soft intro. builds throughout song.
5. slow. fuzzed out guitars. nice breakdown with glockenspiel.
6. med-fast. tremelo strings. keyboards, guitars. nice breakdown with glockenspiel (oops! a pattern!). really pretty ending.
7. med-slow. simmering under the surface
8. med-slow. sparse. builds. nice chorus vocals.
9. short. meandering. scary voice.
10. mid tempo. distorted guitars and keyboards. nice piano part in the middle.
11. med-fast. keyboards, guitars and drums. darkens as the song goes on.
12. heavily distorted guitars.
13. med-slow. almost hip-hopish beat. guitars, keyboards, honky-tonky piano
14. bed of distorted guitars with vocals on top. nice woodwinds and strings later in the song.
15. starts with voice over a beat. strings and chunky beat after that. ends with some atmospheric sounds
16. med-fast. just a nice pop tune with quick vocals.
17. folksy guitar strum. straight ahead.
18. starts soft. grows to be full and rocky.
19. [hidden track]. nothing on it, I think.

Track Listing
1. Chain Reaction   10. Purpose
2. Please Remain Calm   11. A Good God
3. Chemicals Collide   12. Shape Of 8
4. Pretty Voice   13. The Girl Underground
5. Brain Gateway   14. 2x2x2
6. Take Your Medicine   15. Thanks
7. Your 8th Birthday   16. Alien Christ
8. Dance For The Dead   17. The Deaf Girl's Song
9. Everywhere All At One Time   18. Hope