Braxton, Anthony 12+1tet / Selections From 9 Compositions (Iridium) 2006
Album: Selections From 9 Compositions (Iridium) 2006   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Braxton, Anthony 12+1tet   Added:Jun 2007
Label:Firehouse 12  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-07-15 Pull Date: 2007-09-16 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Sep 9 Aug 26 Aug 5 Jul 29 Jul 22
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 05, 2007: Eran Mukamel f. DJ KAD (syllabilicism)
Composition 352 - Part 1
4. Jul 27, 2007: Memory Select
Composition 350 - Part 5
2. Aug 24, 2007: Memory Select: sfSound and Webern
Composition 356 - Part 2 [excerpt]
5. Jul 21, 2007: Cognitive Overload
Composition 352 - Part 1
3. Aug 03, 2007: Memory Select
Composition 355 - Part 1
6. Jul 20, 2007: Baptism of Solitude
Composition 350 - Part 5

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2007-07-08
Challenging free jazz based on Braxtons strange composing, combining post-bop, free jazz, marches, and avant-garde classical. Recognizably jazz elements -- listen for the solos over the guitar riffing early in #1, or the middle of #3.

Long tracks, mostly in fast-slow-fast patterns (#3 is an exception). Lots of detail, and and overall drunken harmonic feel (Braxton often leaves the exact notes up to the players).

It's more supple and fluid compared with, say, the Six Compositions 4-CD set on Rastascan -- which is excellent, but relies more heavily on Braxton's "Ghost Trance" concept of a steady thumping rhythm.

This is a sampler from a nine-CD set that comprises a series of shows at Iridium, an upscale NYC jazz club that was kind enough to give Braxton a week's worth of bookings. Kudos to them for their forward-mindedness.

PERSONNEL: Anthony Braxton (sax/clarinet), Taylor Ho Bynum (cornet), Andrew Raffo Dewar (sax/clarinet), James Fei (sax/bass clarinet), Mary Halvorson (guitar), Steve Lehman (sax), Nicole Mitchell (flute, piccolo, voice), Jessica Pavone (viola/violin), Reut Regev (trombone, flugelbone, mutes, cymbals), Jay Rozen (tuba, euphonium, mutes, toys), Sara Schoenbeck (bassoon, suona), Aaron Siegel (percussion, vibes), Carl Testa (bass, bass clarinet)

1- Scribbly and fluid, quick minded. Cool guitar riff emerges, behind some nutso horn sounds and band spasms. Quiets down into some staggery, noodling composed work. Gets into some smoky ballad sax(!) for a slow ending.

2- Insistent, stabbing rhythm backing fluent jazzy scribbles. Becomes a near free-for-all after about 4 minutes. Pause after about 7 minutes makes a nice stopping point. Then, a slow but busy stretch with fierce overblowing. Rebuilds to a nicely tense but jazzy feel.

3- Grand, groany start. Weirdly emotive viola solo, into furious sax scribblings topped by a cutesy tuba theme. Nicely jazz-jam middle with audible bassoon. Calm ending.

4- Complex midtempo for about 6 minutes. Gets quiet, with growly low horns and agile sax soloing. Dramatic and sudden ending.

5- Warbly march feel, dissolves into a slower, spare space that gets dark and lingering. Rebuilds for the last few minutes, with one FALSE STOP at around -7:00

Track Listing
1. Composition 350 - Part 5   3. Composition 353 - Part 3
2. Composition 352 - Part 1   4. Composition 355 - Part 1
  5. Composition 356 - Part 2