Gabaglio, Zeno / Uno
Album: Uno   Collection:General
Artist:Gabaglio, Zeno   Added:Jun 2007
Label:Pulver Und Asche Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-07-08 Pull Date: 2007-09-09 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Aug 12 Jul 29 Jul 22 Jul 15
Airplays: 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 10, 2007: Brownian Emergency Sub
4. Jul 13, 2007: Baptism of Solitude
2. Jul 26, 2007: Fiction Romance
5. Jul 10, 2007: Lost and Found
3. Jul 17, 2007: Alban Stands There

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-07-04
Swiss artist uses cello and electronics to create compositions that are altogether beautiful, and ambient, experimental. Not just drones, atonality, he uses a perfect degree of melody to keep it musical but not avante or ponderous. Fans of all things lush yet minimal, georgeous but not trite, complex yet simple, musical yet atonal. Eno, Harold Budd, hell I’ll even throw in Pink Floyd at my own risk. Fantastic to know there are young artists taking this type of experimentation to the next level.

1) slow melody, slight swing, quite nice and musical in a near guitar playing mode, last minute or so is very quiet
2) slow, chill repeating synth theme, a beautiful feel, builds slowly in a mindful manner taking a good 9 minutes to finally have layers of sounds and cello, etc enrichen the fiel
3) brief acoustic sounds
4) nice cello work, somber melody, perfect amount of echo and layering, looping
5) very chill super cool looping, treated cello string harmonics “whistle”, wow
6) excellent solo cello work
7) very quiet intro, long chill, minimal with cello sounds and other incidental acoustic noises treated with mostly just echo
8) avante cello/upright bass feel, bursts, sporatic
9) slow cello with a looped noise
10) very quiet start, almost subsonic, cello bow exchanges appear, and begin to rise up into an excellent hypnotic state (it would be good to start this track upon going into a mic break because by about the time you are done the track will be just getting interesting, with about 4-5 minutes left)

Track Listing
1. Chiara   6. Di Legno
2. Tuttoscorre   7. Seauton
3. Mezzo   8. Portone
4. Claire   9. Clara
5. Sedicente   10. Finale