Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Mccormick, Matt / Very Stereo
Album:Very Stereo Collection:General
Artist:Mccormick, Matt Added:07/2007
Label:Marriage Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2008-02-18 Pull Date:2008-04-21 Charts:Classical/Experimental
Week Ending:2 Mar

 Recent Airplay
1.Feb 27, 2008:Bad Stuff 'bout Eran Mukamel (Alan Bostrom, Bob Chase and Fred suck)
It Was A Crushing Defeat
2.Feb 24, 2008:public noize racket
The Electric Can Opener, Oh, Sunshine

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2008-01-18 
Simple indie-rock instrumentals on guitar or synth, with some electronics noise thrown in. Very repetitions, with calm, spare casio notes, jangly guitar, or melody-driven synth sounds, and some backing noise for an experimental sheen. If you like that one piece Air did for the Lost in Translation soundtrack ... these tracks remind me of that. Or outtakes from The Postal Service on a lazy day.

It's like moody ambiance, certainly too polite to be classified as "noise."

Every piece is too long given the thin material (even the 3-minute tracks wear out their welcome within 60 seconds). Many of these are meant to be backdrop to McCormick's films, and they don't stand up well individually. Nice sound bed fodder or transitional cool-down material. FCC safe.

1- Catchy rhythmic blipping, small sounds.
2- Rustling and staticky sounds, quite experimental. Melody develops later.
3- Hearing-test beeeep in a cool rhythm. A bit ominous and buzzy later.
4- Gentle chiming synth notes, sparse, under a rushing noise.
5- Slow video-game blipping, tuneful casio notes
6- Amusing voicemail message. Then chopped-up tones that literally come from CoolEdit's reference pitch. Actually not bad, a mellow and exploratory space.
7- Slow, clattery, with a crunchy near-melody.
8- An abstract rushing sound, then small synth tones. Gentle, so much so that it ends with bird sounds. Oh, PLEASE.
9- Two chord indie-rock jangle that keeps going and going for fourteen minutes. Fade it after the first 3 or 4.

Track Listing
1.Oh, Sunshine 5.For Homesick Memories
2.elevator muzac 6.Blue Remains Grey
3.The Electric Can Opener 7.Refrigerator Dance Musics
4.It Was A Crushing Defeat 8.Tugboat Muzac
 9.Ride A Wave To Tomorrow's Sunset