Songs For Moms / Jellyfish Award, The
Album: Jellyfish Award, The   Collection:General
Artist:Songs For Moms   Added:Aug 2007
Label:(No Label Information)  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-12-09 Pull Date: 2008-02-10
Week Ending: Feb 3 Jan 27 Jan 20 Jan 13 Dec 23 Dec 16
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 23, 2009: Multiple Personality Disorder
Nothin' At All
4. Mar 04, 2008: I once was Canadian (the 3/4 Special)
2. Sep 18, 2008: At Your Local Dive
5. Feb 22, 2008: Live From Six Feet Underground
3. Jun 10, 2008: Live From Six Feet Underground
6. Jan 30, 2008: nag champa orangeasm
Coney Island

Album Review
Reviewed 2007-11-29
Songs For Moms – The Jellyfish Award Reviewed by Witz

Upbeat indie pop. Molly, Alanna, and Carey make up Songs For Mom, the Bay Area group that has put together a fun, energetic, clashy, catchy-as-hell, and well constructed album in The Jellyfish Award. Twangy guitars and slightly country (but also Irish accented) vocals from Molly and Alanna drive this album, providing plenty of infectious riffs and choruses. The two vocalists complement each other perfectly, providing both nice harmonies and, at times, the appropriate disjointed, chaotic segment. ALL GOOD.

*1) Bluegrass-y, clangy, and full of energy. Catchy. (2:30)
*2) More minor chords gives a very slightly darker feel, but quick moving and great chorus. (1:49)
**3) Waltzing rhythm, excellent vocal harmonies, and a catchy chorus. (2:51)
4) Slow, soft, rolling ballad that builds and has group singing goodness (2:40)
5) Fast, clashy, almost punky. Some interesting variation from rest of album. (2:09)
6) Fast, upbeat, catchy, and they whistle. What more is there, really? (1:59)
7) Fast and grittier guitar. (2:28)
8) Quick verse, but slows down for the chorus. Feels like a good end track. (3:17)

Track Listing
1. Coney Island   5. Nothin' At All
2. Don't Live With Your Lover Or Love With Your Liver   6. Expendable
3. 1906   7. Underground
4. Why Oh Why   8. Hey Hey Hey