Angels Of Light / We Are Him
Album: We Are Him   Collection:General
Artist:Angels Of Light   Added:Aug 2007
Label:Young God Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-10-07 Pull Date: 2007-12-09
Week Ending: Dec 9 Nov 11 Oct 28 Oct 21 Oct 14
Airplays: 1 1 2 4 6

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 28, 2015: Breakaway Bluff
Sunflower's Here To Stay
4. Jan 30, 2009: The Pants Down Oval Office
Promise Of Water
2. Oct 02, 2014: The Sunset Life
Not Here/Not Now
5. Dec 06, 2007: Living Souls
Not Here/Not Now
3. Jun 02, 2010: Beatnik Bourgeoisie
We Are Him
6. Nov 07, 2007: Brownian Motion
Sometimes I Dream I'm Hurting You

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2007-10-03
Unclassifiable creations from Michael Gira’s solo project post-Swans. Though Gira has been instrumental in the “anti-folk” movement by signing and giving a voice to the likes of Devandra Banhardt via his Young God Records label, those sounds don’t entirely dominate his music, though elements do. Instead, this stuff fails to be pigeonholed, even likened to other bands (besides later Swans/Jarboe). Distinct darkness, bent creepiness have always been his forte, however, gone is his trademark subsonic baritone. Instead, when he fills the headphones with pretty joy and light it comes across instead like skipping through a dew soaked meadow filled with wildflowers in the warm morning light only to trip over an eviscerated body hiding in the grass, coming face to face with its dead dark eyes.

1) upbeat feel somehow, plods forward
2) folk element to this dark dirge, nice strings
3) “pretty” elelment always ends up ironic, uplifting guitars and angelic voices subvert
4) FCCs
5) starts dark, interjects some melody, dark Swans (post 1990) feel to this
6) slower, singer-songwriter w/ a very out of character middle, w/ trombone and swingy drums, huh?
7) layers of tones in intro followed by almost swingy song, strange mix
8) slow, somber lilting ballad, dark themed
9) full band bursts, twisted shifts into a near 60’s Bacharrach pop, huh?
10) FCCs
11) triplet waltz, folksy
12) slow triplet, dark near shoegaze

Track Listing
1. Black River Song   7. We Are Him
2. Promise Of Water   8. Sometimes I Dream I'm Hurting You
3. The Man We Left Behind   9. Sunflower's Here To Stay
4. My Brother's Man   10. Good Bye Mary Lou
5. Not Here/Not Now   11. The Visitor
6. Joseph's Song   12. Star Chaser