Heasley, Tom & Toss Panos / Passages
Album: Passages   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Heasley, Tom & Toss Panos   Added:Nov 2007
Label:Full Bleed Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-02-03 Pull Date: 2008-04-06 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Apr 6 Mar 9 Mar 2 Feb 17 Feb 10
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 04, 2008: Memory Select
98% Pure
4. Feb 27, 2008: Bad Stuff 'bout Eran Mukamel (Alan Bostrom, Bob Chase and Fred suck)
2. Mar 05, 2008: Brownian Motion
Elegy For Philip Berrigan
5. Feb 12, 2008: The Wonder Girls of Canada
98% Pure
3. Feb 29, 2008: Memory Select
Cliffs Of Moher [excerpt]
6. Feb 08, 2008: Memory Select
Cliffs of Moher [excerpt]

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2008-01-18
Ambient music with tuba and drums ... long slow passages where the tuba gets mutated by echoes, loops, and other effects. Heasley is a local chap (and Day of Noise vet) who's been doing this kind of stuff for years. Could possibly be called new age, but it's got a stranger attitude than that, and much less melody. Noise or ambient fans should give it a try.

1- Slow and patient. Features lots of grand melodic slowness, like the other tracks, but also many phases of experimentation -- smaller, curled tuba sounds, or more aggressive drumming. The last few minutes ar eespecially "out there."
2- VERY quiet start. Then, some slowly tuneful tuba with spirited drums. Lots of echo, an upbeat yet cavernous feel.
3- Slow grand start. Later, a slow tribal drum beat emerges.
4- The most tuneful one. After a tuba intro, some slowish jungle drumming and placid melody.
5- Spirited; the drums really get grooving. Tuneful, grand, with a light beat.

Track Listing
1. Different Worlds   3. Elegy For Philip Berrigan
2. 98% Pure   4. Zephyr
  5. Cliffs Of Moher