Dead Sea Scribes / Arise
Album: Arise   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Dead Sea Scribes   Added:Nov 2007
Label:Engine Studios  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-12-02 Pull Date: 2008-02-03 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jan 27 Jan 6 Dec 23 Dec 16
Airplays: 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 26, 2008: New World Disorder
4. Dec 16, 2007: New World Disorder
Smoke Signals
2. Jan 24, 2008: Happy Hour
5. Dec 09, 2007: New World Disorder
Might As Well Quit
3. Dec 30, 2007: New World Disorder
Might As Well Quit

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2007-12-03
Dead Sea Scribes – Arise
Reviewed by Sadie O., 11/27/07
Local Hip Hop set to Reggae beat. All songs are very downtempo, and I like the music. The lyrics are often quite good, although sometimes a bit college-age, and the delivery seems a bit stilted and adenoidal, but they do seem to have promise. Unfortunately, I was deeply frustrated by the occasional FCCs that make most songs unplayable outside of Safe Harbor – don’t people know we can’t do that on the radio? Sheesh. I really had to debate whether to add this one, but there are some decent songs, and they are local, so…
FCCs on most songs. Best clean songs are 5, 9 and 10.
1. 1:12 minimalist drumming, chanting, and statement of purpose.
2. 4:32 FCC: “what the fuck” *somewhat downtempo and relaxed skank with two hip hop vocals.
3. 5:04 FCC: “motherfuckin” **downtempo simple but effective skank.
4. 4:16 **downtempo bubble, anti-war message. Includes recording of Ghandi speaking.
5. 4:37 FCC: “shit” **downtempo skank, simple sound, lots of talk.
6. 4:25 ***midtempo skank with “heavy metal” guitar – nice sound.
7. 4:37 **interesting low guitar sound, very downtempo and downbeat.
8. 5:30 FCC: “fuckin” **ethereal female vocals and solo guitar, then another downtempo skank, sort of Haight-Asbury… Only vocals for quite a bit late in the song.
9. 5:07 ***echo-y violin and a bit of effects, very slow, plodding, but interesting. Bit of cello and female vocals at end.
10. 4:51 ***acoustic guitar, nice shuffling beat. Some cool instrument sounds, some rather nasal vocals at end.
11. 4:00 FCCs: “don’t get pissed” “shit” “fuckin” *kinda trance-y and syncopated. Would be good if they didn’t have such potty mouths…
12. 5:15 FCC: “shit” *starts with a bit of preaching. Pretty skank.
13. 4:01 FCC: “fuckin” X 2 ****cool bouncy skank with hand drums and bass up front. It makes me FURIOUS that they spoiled so many songs with single gratuitous FCCs…
14. 4:19 FCC: “shit” “what the fuck” ***marching riddim, shout out to the Bay Area.

Track Listing
1. Intro   8. Enemies
2. Deviant   9. Smoke Signals
3. Running On Razors   10. Brother
4. Eye For An Eye   11. Manifesto
5. Push Comes To Shove   12. Power And Poise
6. Might As Well Quit   13. Sons Of Viet Nam
7. Arise   14. Our Stories