Clint Eastwood & General Saint / Stop That Train
Album: Stop That Train   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Clint Eastwood & General Saint   Added:Dec 2007
Label:Greensleeves Records Ltd.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2007-12-02 Pull Date: 2008-02-03 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Feb 3 Jan 27 Jan 20 Jan 13 Jan 6 Dec 30 Dec 23 Dec 16
Airplays: 2 3 1 3 1 3 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 13, 2024: Exploring the ul-A file
Stop That Train
4. Jul 25, 2013: The Doldrummer
Monkey Man (12" Mix)
2. Dec 21, 2017: the acu hour winter solstice spectacular
Stop That Train
5. Apr 24, 2013: Green Copper Radio
Stop That Train
3. Nov 02, 2015: Souls of Sound
Stop That Train
6. Dec 21, 2011: New World Disorder
Stop That Train

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2007-12-03
Clint Eastwood & General Saint – Stop That Train
Reviewed by Sadie O., 12-1-07
Reissue of the 1983 roots of UK Dancehall classic, with 3 extra 12” mix tracks. Still called DJing or Toasting at the time, this was the UK Reggae version of Hip Hop (but with full band – no electronic production), and was quite revolutionary and influential. I can’t tell whether it’s been remastered, but I can tell you that I wore my vinyl copy completely out back in the day, and I never noticed how thick and tasty the instrumentation and production was. God, this is the shite!
No FCCs detected. It’s all GREAT – play anything, but start with track one and the extended versions at the end.
1. 5:08****starts with announcement, then midtempo gorgeous skank with singing and dancehall – huge hit because it’s EXCELLENT. Cover of a ska classic, mixed in with “500 Miles”.
2. 3:31 ***downtempo bubble, phatty production, fun British politricks lyrics.
3. 4:32 **gong crash and expounding, then very downtempo and menacing riddim, crisis lyrics.
4. 3:00 ***horns and cute kiddie intro, slightly downtempo skank with little girls chanting nursery rhymes. At the same time danceable, cool and adorable.
5. 2:48 **conversation intro, midtempo and fun updating of the great calypso incest number.
6. 3:44 ***slightly downtempo skank – lyrics seem to be cobbled from all sorts of sources.
7. 2:55 **bass and chimes intro, very downtempo skank with cowbell and percussion, fun song to march around the dance with a Red Stripe in each fist to…
8. 3:25 ***very swingy midtempo riddim – definitely a British Reggae sound, about being stopped by the police.
9. 2:47 **rather uptempo paean to vegetables, nice guitar and sax.
10. 3:53 ***military horn flourish intro, then ska cover, sung vocal harmonies, life during depression lyrics.
11. 3:16 ***midtempo hard skank, sad tale of love lost to a “big monkey man”.
12. 3:06 ***midtempo skank with nutty, almost kiddie rhyme lyrics.
13. 6:21 ****extended mix of track 11 with some dubby components. The instrumentation is fabulous.
14. 5:49 ***extended mix of track 6, gets very dubby.
15. 4:57 ***extended mix of track 7, also gets dubby near end.

Track Listing
1. Stop That Train   8. Stop Jack
2. Vote For We   9. True Vegetarian
3. Nuclear Crisis   10. Everything Crash
4. Rock With Me   11. Monkey Man
5. Shame & Scandal   12. H.A.P.P.Y.
6. Matty Gunga Walk   13. Monkey Man (12" Mix)
7. Disco Queen   14. Matty Gunga Walk (12"Mix)
  15. Disco Queen (12" Mix)