Hardy, Marina / Pink Violin
Album: Pink Violin   Collection:General
Artist:Hardy, Marina   Added:Dec 2007
Label:(No Label Information)  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-05-26 Pull Date: 2008-07-28
Week Ending: Jul 13 Jun 22 Jun 8 Jun 1
Airplays: 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 11, 2008: Oatmeal
4. May 29, 2008: The Courtesy Flush
2. Jun 15, 2008: Undrinkably Bad Oddities
5. May 28, 2008: 408's Finest
Yip Yip
3. Jun 04, 2008: nag champa orangeasm

Album Review
Reviewed 2008-04-06
Marina Hardy
"Pink Violin"

Mostly digitally composed instrumental music with a "Gypsy/Carnival" theme. The unabashed sound of drum machine and retro-synth makes it sound like it could be the soundtrack to the Romanian "Miami Vice." Strings become more prevalent in the second half along with a Jazzy lounge sound.

Picks: 7,8,11 No FCC's

1 (1:46) Low pitched howling while Hardy hums "Dream a Little Dream For Me."

2 (3:02) The name ("Cowgypsy") says it all. A drum machine and an accordion along with tuba and some other brass in strings in a bouncy tune.

3 (1:43) Noisy guitar riffs with more of the gypsy feel. She smokes through this short one!

4 (6:11) Eerie echoing track with chimes and violin and creepy ticking.

5 (0:33) Ultra-quiet. She is just fooling around on an unplugged bass.

6 (4:17) brass in digitally composed harmony with an electrotech build-up and a quiet finish

7 (2:56) Gypsy swaying, complete with accordion, trombone, and other effects. Picks up a beat after the first minute.

8 (4:54) A very soft and hypnotic harp session. The repeated melody gave me vertigo (in a good way).

9 (2:59) Piano lounge theme from the 80's

10 (4:29) Warbling electronic guitar and synth-organ in another theme piece. There is a bass solo in the second minute.

11 (5:00) Raw viola string wailing. Looping and layering brings a second viola in and out. Very dissonant and beautiful.

12 (2:25) Quiet with a high-pitched ringing.

13 (2:26) Piano/violin duo in a tune from Disney soundtrack.

14 (3:18) Jazz piano with the return of the warbling gypsy violin.

Track Listing
1. Mkay   8. Red Teeth
2. Cowgyspy   9. Yip Yip
3. Zoom   10. Yowsa
4. Apple Sauce Pudding   11. Ceisel
5. Funk   12. Naow
6. Trummpet   13. It Ain't Necessarily So
7. Spanish   14. Dollering