Finn, Liam / I'll Be Lightning
Album: I'll Be Lightning   Collection:General
Artist:Finn, Liam   Added:Feb 2008
Label:Yep Roc Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-02-10 Pull Date: 2008-04-13
Week Ending: Apr 13 Apr 6 Mar 30 Mar 23 Mar 16 Mar 9 Mar 2 Feb 24
Airplays: 2 5 3 4 2 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 23, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Second Chance
4. Nov 18, 2016: Time Traveler
Second Chance
2. Oct 16, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Second Chance
5. Mar 25, 2016: Time Traveler
Second Chance
3. Dec 07, 2018: KZSU Time Traveler
Second Chance
6. Dec 19, 2014: Time Traveler
Second Chance

Album Review
Reviewed 2008-02-11
Acoustic, sometimes quirky indie pop with synth elements out of New Zealand. Finn sometimes has an Elliott Smith quality to his voice--whispery, with high harmony overdubs, but otherwise Elliott isn't a strong comparison. This is, in a way, similar to some of the current crop of Swedish indie pop--it's just pop, but it's a bit quirky. This is a pretty enjoyable album.

My picks: 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 10, 13 FCC: Clean.
1. mid tempo. Strong synth bass with acoustic guitar and light drums. fun feel.
2. med-fast. synth drum beat w/ acoustic and ringing electric guitar.
3. med-slow. floating, (semi-hypnotic) guitar and strings.
4. med-fast. driving and more of a full rocker than the previous songs. Has softer and more aggressive sections
5. med-slow. blippy background synth loop. acoustic guitar, vocals and background choir vocals.
6. med-slow. lullaby-like. a capella (many overdubbed vocals)
7. steals drums from Low's "just like christmas". upbeat and med-fast.
8. slower. acoustic w/ light drums and noodling electric guitar. fake ending at ~0:52 left.
9. mid tempo. acoustic guitar and light drums.
10. med-fast. brushed drums with acoustic guitar. nice melody. Big build near the end, complete with choir vocals.
11. mid-tempo. strong synth bass + acoustic guitar. darker. slightly heavier ending. distorted guitars!
12. med-slow. guitar and autoharp and very elliott smith vocals.
13. slow. guitars (acoustic, electric), light drums, multi-tracked vocals.
14. slow. piano, vocals.

Track Listing
1. Better To Be   8. Music Moves My Feet
2. Second Chance   9. Remember When
3. Gather To The Chapel   10. Wise Man
4. Lead Balloon   11. This Place Is Killy Me
5. Fire In Your Belly   12. I'll Be Lightning
6. Lullaby   13. Wide Awake On The Voyage Home
7. Energy Spent   14. Shadow Of Your Man