Various Artists / Reggae Now: Vol. 4
Album: Reggae Now: Vol. 4   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Apr 2008
Label:Bogalusa Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-04-27 Pull Date: 2008-06-29 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Jun 29 Jun 15 Jun 8 Jun 1 May 25 May 18 May 11 May 4
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 1 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 24, 2008: New World Disorder
Put Down The Gun
4. May 31, 2008: New World Disorder
Put Down The Gun
2. Jun 14, 2008: New World Disorder
Black Like A Tar
5. May 24, 2008: New World Disorder
How Do You Feel
3. Jun 07, 2008: New World Disorder
How Do You Feel
6. May 24, 2008: Disorder Lost, Disorder Found
Babylon Boy

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2008-04-28
[coll]: Reggae Now: Vol. 4
Reviewed by Sadie O., 4/24/08
Recent compilation of Reggae by some of the top current stars. The music isn’t exceptional – mostly pleasant midtempo, often a bit too commercially produced for my tastes. The vocals are all nice and vary widely in terms of interesting sound and lyrical content. Tracks 13-15 are shite love songs, but the rest are sociopolitical/Rasta and many are quite good.
No FCCs detected. I lik 5, 6, 9, 12, and esp. 10 and 11.
1. **relaxed midtempo bubble, sweet singing (2 voices), rather minimalist sound.
2. **also relaxed midtempo with handdrums and organ – rather spiritual feel, hard times lyrics.
3. deep breathy spoken intro, relaxed bubble, female chorus. Nice enough male lead vocals.
4. **pretty, slightly uptempo skank, Luciano’s always attractive singing.
5. ***rather upbeat bubble, attractive male vocals.
6. ***similar riddim, fine dancehall vocals from Anthony B.
7. **slow, mellow nyahbinghi drum and jazzy sax, Jah protect lyrics, sort of a charm chant by the end.
8. **a bit random few seconds intro, then “Sizzla unplugged” – just vocals and acoustic guitar. Definitely a different sound – I think it’s pretty much extemporaneous, and with just bits of his usual crazy vocal sound.
9. ***midtempo skank, big horn section – interesting take on black pride.
10. ****rather forgettable midtempo bubble, but great dancehall vocals from one of the biggest new stars.
11. ****child chanting intro, then midtempo skank with a bit of dubby feel, the usual pretty vocal interplay from Morgan Heritage, anti-violence lyrics. Nice.
12. ***fairly strong midtempo skank, female dancehall vocals from a huge star, diatribe against money-grubbers.
13. Mellow bubble, forgettable love song. (note to singer: she’s leaving because you’re boring…)
14. Geeze, more of the same…
15. *pleasant bubble, love song, very commercial but inoffensive…
16. totally overused vocal effects – would be an ok song otherwise – back to Africa lyrics.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Dwayne Feat. Gyptian Rudeboy Shuffling
2. Luton Fyah Screaming
3. Natural Blacks Nah Go Mek It
4. Luciano More Love
5. Natty King Weh The Love Gone
6. Anthony B How Do You Feel
7. Chezideck No Fear
8. Sizzla Speak Of Jah
9. Richie Spice Black Like A Tar
10. Perfect Babylon Boy
11. Morgan Heritage Put Down The Gun
12. Tanya Stephens Falling
13. Prestige Without Your Love
14. Warrior King Empress Divine
15. Lukie D Real Love
16. Norrisman @ Natural Blacks Going Away