Russian Circles / Station
Album: Station   Collection:General
Artist:Russian Circles   Added:Apr 2008
Label:Suicide Squeeze Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-05-26 Pull Date: 2008-07-28 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 22 Jun 15 Jun 8
Airplays: 1 2 3 1 2 2 3 6

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 30, 2023: Some Songs Without Words
Harper Lewis
4. May 03, 2012: The Fall of Math
2. Jun 30, 2021: Some Songs Without Words
Harper Lewis
5. Jul 26, 2008: Bloodstains Across Atherton-Kick Now Serious Ass!
3. Oct 28, 2012: The Mongrel's Stoop Special
Harper Lewis
6. Jul 16, 2008: Baptism of Solitude

Album Review
Reviewed 2008-05-20
Excellent heavy instrumental post rock. Second record by this Chicago based trio (guitar, bass, drums), showing they have greatly matured and expanded their sound, shifting away from the standard post rock formula: "build up, build up, explode". Beautifully melodic at times, heavy (but not too heavy) at others, this record is a must listen for fans of Red Sparowes, Pelican, Explosions in the Sky, etc. All tracks segue into each other so you can easily play the whole thing! Great!

Picks: 3,4,2,6,1,5 (all) ***No FCCs***

1. underlying repetitive guitar, melodic throughout, builds up but never explodes
2. nice drumming and throbbing base throughout, heavier @ 2:30 with chugging guitar riffing
3. epic. guitar and bass push and pull thrumming. alternates between heavy and melodic parts with the guitar soaring to the sky in the end. vintage post rock
4. elegant, soaring, beautiful. like explosions in the sky or sigur ros
5. menacing guitar intro builds up to isis-like heaviness
6. quiet, introspective, sad, beautiful...

Track Listing
1. Campaign   4. Verses
2. Harper Lewis   5. Youngblood
3. Station   6. Xavii