Stetson, Colin / New History Warfare: Volume 1
Album: New History Warfare: Volume 1   Collection:General
Artist:Stetson, Colin   Added:May 2008
Label:Aagoo Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2011-03-13 Pull Date: 2011-05-15 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: May 8 May 1 Apr 24 Apr 17 Apr 10 Mar 27 Mar 20
Airplays: 5 2 1 2 1 1 5
Add Date: 2008-06-01 Pull Date: 2008-08-03 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jun 29 Jun 15 Jun 8
Airplays: 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 30, 2014: The Proselytizer Radio News Hour
Our Heartbreak Perfect, Groundswell
4. May 05, 2011: Orangeasm Sub
Letter To Hst
2. May 06, 2011: gilt
Our Heartbreak Perfect
5. May 04, 2011: Brownian Motion
Quincy Had A Glandular Problem
3. May 05, 2011: Lost Verses
Tiger Tiger Crane
6. May 04, 2011: brain drip
Letter To Hst

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2008-05-26
Saxophone taken to its limits by a session guy who has an impressive resume with lots of hip bands (Arcade Fire, Tom Waits, TV on the Radio, Antibalas). Awesome in its abstractness yet musicality. All very interesting stuff and worth a spin for sure.

1) bouncy rhythmic but abstract sax playing, pensive and interesting
2) brief, spoken word over bass line and sax gets louder and more intense to cold stop
3) brief, pretty hi pitched and percussive
4) rhythmic and strange, pensive upbeat somehow
5) very vocal abstract solo sax, brief
6) spoken word sample at head, chill tones appear
7) very brief but lovely simple tones with nice reverb, sweet
8) looping sax, very pensive
9) looping sax that takes on an electronic quality almost, like random computer notes
10) use of delay/echo to generate a percussive rhythm with the sax, like “sax beat box”, cool
11) spastic high notes, fast and trippy
12) starts with a spoken word sample, then long drawn out lines, get loud, abstract, all in all really great and dissonant, organic (can hear him breathing), great stuff, ends around 6minutes, then after ~90 seconds of dead air a “hidden” track appears that features drums, sax, and sorta gets pretty rockin

Track Listing
1. And It Fought To Escape   7. Ohp
2. Stand, Walk   8. Quincy Had A Glandular Problem
3. Groundswell   9. Nobu Take
4. Time Is Advancing With Fitfull Irregularity   10. Tiger Tiger Crane
5. Drown The Rats And Giants   11. Letter To Hst
6. As A Bird Or Branch   12. Our Heartbreak Perfect