Andy, Horace / Jah Is The One
Album: Jah Is The One   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Andy, Horace   Added:Jun 2008
Label:Attack Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-06-15 Pull Date: 2008-08-17 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Aug 17 Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 6 Jun 29
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 03, 2018: Everything A to Z Week 146
Ain't No Sunshine 'remix'
4. Aug 02, 2008: New World Disorder
You Are My Angel
2. Aug 16, 2008: New World Disorder
You Are My Angel
5. Jul 26, 2008: New World Disorder
3. Aug 09, 2008: New World Disorder
6. Jul 19, 2008: New World Disorder
Leaders Of Babylon

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2008-06-16
Horace Andy – Jah Is The One
Reviewed by Sadie O., 6/14/08
Comp of roots rock and rock steady from a great singer known for sweet baritone and pure falsetto. Some tracks on CD one are very murky and soft, unfortunately. Andy always got great musicians and producers, so there’s some fine rhythm sections a some tasty dub, esp. on CD two. Andy is a very earnest lyricist and vocalist, and very devout.
No FCCs. Tracks 9 and 12 on CD 1, and 2, 6, 8, 13, 18 on CD 2 best.
1. 2:52 ***midtempo roots bubble, pure falsetto (and normal) vocals, devout religious lyrics.
2. 2:29 **sweet midtempo bubble, really lovely love song.
3. 3:02 *rather downtempo skank, spoken intro, pleasant song.
4. 3:41 **uptempo bubble, upful lyrics.
5. 3:07 **slightly uptempo, sweet remake of a major American hit (most famously by the Fleetwoods).
6. 3:22 **uptempo bubble, vocals sound like they’re recorded in a bathroom, but that’s rock steady for ya. Guitar solo – rather rare in rock steady. Lyrics seem to be about anonymous lust…
7. 2:14 **finally, the pot song! Actually seems rather like a very slow calypso/ska number.
8. 3:10 ***uptempo bounce, brotherhood lyrics. Nice.
9. 3:27 ****slow roots skank with a bit of dub, terrific song (also recorded by Black Uhuru on one of their earliest albums.)
10. 2:25 *slow skank, cover of the Bill Withers number, vocals way up front but not terribly inspired.
11. 2:09 extremely murky and soft track – bloody unfortunate, as it’s a great song and a classic.
12. 4:06 ****slow swingy bubble, great song (also a hit by Delroy Wilson – this version is a bit slower but at least as good.)
13. 3:04 another murky and soft track. Damn! Midtempo bubble with rightful living lyrics.
14. 2:37 *sad lost love song.
15. 2:40 **downtempo bubble with some rather extreme farfisa. Rich people gonna get it come judgment time lyrics.
16. 3:19 *downtempo skank, somewhat odd lyrics about relationships.
17. 3:58 *low levels, quite minimalist and a bit dubby, lament about violence and evil.
18. 3:31 **midtempo slightly dubby bubble, mostly drum and bass; can’t trust anyone lyrics.
19. 4:17 ***downtempo dubby and minimalist skank, everybody party lyrics. Cuts out completely and comes back about half a minute from end.
20. 4:00 *again very murky sounding, downtempo bubble, history lesson lyrics, basically chanted. Interesting and a bit odd.
CD 2:
1. 3:53 **midtempo minimalist skank, people are wicked lyrics, quite impassioned.
2. 4:48 ****rather dramatic intro, downtempo bubble with fun hand percussion, bun dung Babylon lyrics.
3. 2:05 **downtempo dubby skank, moralizing lyrics.
4. 4:13 **midtempo upbeat bubble, sweet and earnest love song.
5. 3:24 *downtempo guitar-driven bubble, rather odd religious lyrics.
6. 5:37 *****very downtempo bubble, rather bitter lyrics. I can get behind this, actually…. Includes excellent dub.
7. 3:48 **tingly piano intro, downtempo skank with a bit of nyahbinghi, lament lyrics. Cuts out dubwise.
8. 3:28 ****midtempo swingy bounce, cool riddim, love life lyrics.
9. 4:10 *downtempo rootsy skank, rather stream of consciousness lyrics.
10. 4:14 **slow bubble, freedom song lyrics, cuts out and comes back a few seconds from end.
11. 3:41 ***downtempo dubby skank, diatribe against the modern world.
12. 3:38 *midtempo skank, another diatribe.
13. 2:58 ****terrific downtempo skank with cool running bass line, sweet love song, huge hit.
14. 2:15 *classic rock steady sound, jealousy song.
15. 2:51 ***uptempo rock steady skank, Andy’s vocals are in fine form, although Jah knows what he’s on about…
16. 2:26 ***better quality sound than most tracks, somewhat uptempo and upbeat skank, evil money lyrics.
17. 3:17 **midtempo swingy bubble, Armageddon lyrics.
18. 3:58 ****midtempo bass-driven bubble, liberation lyrics partially from a massive Hugh Mundell hit.
19. 3:53 ***midtempo swingy bubble, fine playing and singing, religious lyrics – would be 4 stars except for a bit of overt homophobia in the lyrics.
20. 2:18 *very slow version of the Bill Withers hit.

Track Listing
1. Thank You Lord   21. It Grieve My Heart
2. Bless You   22. Leaders Of Babylon
3. True Love Shine Bright   23. Something On My Mind
4. Forward Home   24. My Guiding Star
5. Goodnight My Love   25. Do Right
6. Take My Hand   26. Don't Try To Use Me
7. Better Collie   27. Set Me Free
8. Man To Man   28. I Love My Life
9. Natural Mystic   29. I've Been Around
10. Ain't No Sunshine   30. Totally Free
11. I've Got To Get Away   31. Modern Babylon
12. Riding For A Fall   32. This World
13. Crime Don't Pay   33. You Are My Angel
14. Rain From The Skies   34. Just Say Who
15. It's Gonna Be Dread   35. Sky Larking
16. Love Of A Woman   36. Money Money
17. Soddom & Gomorrah   37. Zion Gate
18. Beware   38. Liberation
19. Pure Rankin   39. Jah Is The One
20. Our Jamaican National Heroes   40. Ain't No Sunshine 'remix'