Stott, Jef / Saracen
Album: Saracen   Collection:General
Artist:Stott, Jef   Added:Jun 2008
Label:Six Degrees Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-07-13 Pull Date: 2008-09-14 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Sep 14 Sep 7 Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20
Airplays: 3 2 2 1 3 2 3 4

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 26, 2008: Post Holiday Traumatic Stress Disorder
Medina Stepper
4. Sep 11, 2008: An Epiphany Of Sound - Library Science (LIVE)
Overland, Axis (Evolve), Overland, Medina Stepper, Lamaset (Miami Mix)
2. Oct 25, 2008: New World Disorder
Sono (Album Version)
5. Sep 06, 2008: Lost and Found
Faqir, Medina Stepper
3. Sep 13, 2008: New World Disorder
Medina Stepper
6. Aug 28, 2008: press and release
Medina Stepper

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2008-07-15
Jef Stott – Saracen
Reviewed by Sadie O., 7/1/08
Middle Eastern meets electronica in dub. Local artist and guests. Mostly very moody and dark and mysterious, in a good way. Pieces go through a lot of changes and involve a lot of musical elements. Compares very favorably to Cheb-I-Sabbah. Everything is gorgeous and involves interesting combinations. Excellent!
FCCs – nothing in English, doubtful anyway. I like 5 and 6 best.
1. ***strong midtempo electronic dance beat that turns into belly dance beat with the addition of hand drums. Low register instrumentation, great sound.
2. ***random Arabic vocals and percussion, a bit of downtempo groove, then midtempo traditional sound with a reggae back beat.
3. *glitch intro, then very dark chords. Dance beat, but very somber feel.
4. **DARK chord, and very odd, breathy flute. Unique, warbly but low vocals.
5. ****uptempo oud and handdrums, funky electronics, guest vocals by MC Rai. Killer stuff!
6. ****electronics, a bit of darkness and menace, then seriously funky beat (and darkness and menace.)
7. ***electronic drones, percussion slowly added in, midtempo belly dance beat, continuing to… evolve. More vocals by MC Rai – really quite gorgeous. LONG fade.
8. **extremely soft electronic intro, then louder but still rather formless for first minute. Swingy syncopated beat, lyricless vocals. Adds elements and gets prettier as it goes along.
9. **fairly dramatic intro, electronic squeepy beat, very “jungle” with just overlaid elements of Arabic instrumentation.
10. ***soft and somber intro, then bits of instruments and vocals cobbled together, dub beat and production. Very subdued, but very cool. Long fade.

Track Listing
1. Lamaset (Miami Mix)   6. Faqir
2. Sono (Album Version)   7. Axis (Evolve)
3. Ashk   8. Overland
4. Saracen (Eye Of Horus Vocal Mix)   9. Blissm'lah (Darbuka Re-Mix)
5. Medina Stepper   10. Aegean Dub