Giant Sand / Provisions
Album: Provisions   Collection:General
Artist:Giant Sand   Added:Sep 2008
Label:Yep Roc Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-09-07 Pull Date: 2008-11-09
Week Ending: Nov 2 Oct 26 Oct 19 Oct 12 Oct 5 Sep 21 Sep 14
Airplays: 1 1 3 1 2 5 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 02, 2014: The Sunset Life
The Desperate Kingdom Of Love
4. Apr 14, 2011: Double Daydream Disaster
Stranded Pearl
2. Sep 07, 2012: The Songsmith Show
Without A Word
5. Nov 30, 2010: Daydream Disaster
Stranded Pearl
3. May 19, 2011: Daydream Disaster
Out There
6. Oct 19, 2010: Daydream Disaster
Without A Word

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2008-09-01
Howe Gelb collaborates with all stars from M. Ward to Neko Case, Isobel Campbell et al. Typical fare: its been said that Gelb has “one song”. Well thank god it’s a damn good song. What you expect: a slight twang everywhere (if blatant) with brushed drums, usually dark and minor and reflective, with understated near mumbled/whispered vocals. Great stuff from down Tucson way.

1) minor toned upbeat and pretty with Isobel Campbell singing
2) Neko Case lends her pipes, upbeat rhythm
3) M. Ward - upbeat decidedly country western flare
4) slower swing, slightly drunk, nice play on “home sick” (“sick of home”) that shows that Howe truly knows what being a Tucsonan means
5) slow western blues, piano based
6) spooky dark mysterious
7) somber piano based orchestrated feel
8) dark and chill and pondering
9) upbeat nearly jazzy and hip
10) bluesy, then midway turns upbeat somehow
11) kinda of an icky “bar funky blues band” feel,
12) smarmy instrumental, jazz/bluesy Waits’y
13) another icky “soulful” bar band tone somehow, though the lyrics and intent are good

Track Listing
1. Stranded Pearl   8. Pitch & Sway
2. Without A Word   9. Muck Machine
3. Can Do   10. Belly Full Of Fire
4. Out There   11. Saturated Beyond Repair
5. The Desperate Kingdom Of Love   12. World's End State Park
6. Increment Of Love   13. Well Enough Alone
7. Spiral   14. Wearing The Robes Of Bible Black