Various Artists / Reggae Singles Fall 2008
Album: Reggae Singles Fall 2008   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Sep 2008
Label:(No Label Information)  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2008-10-19 Pull Date: 2008-12-21 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Dec 21 Dec 14 Dec 7 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9 Nov 2
Airplays: 2 1 1 2 1 2 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 20, 2008: New World Disorder
4. Dec 05, 2008: YA DIG RADIO
Blood A Run
2. Dec 19, 2008: The Twilight Zone
On A Journey
5. Nov 29, 2008: New World Disorder
3. Dec 13, 2008: New World Disorder
I Feel Good Version
6. Nov 22, 2008: New World Disorder
Blaze A Fire

Album Review
Sadie O.
Reviewed 2008-10-20
Reviewed by Sadie O., 9/11/08
Brand new Reggae promos from a variety of sources. Inner Circle emailed a couple tracks, Promise Riddim was from Radiodirect, VP records sent some promo single CDs, and Dubmatix had a few free downloads on their website. I’m going to see if I can score some complete CDs from Dubmatix, because they’re really good…
No FCCs detected. I like track 3 and the Dubmatix tracks at the end.
1. ***strong midtempo skank, a bit dubby, fine vocals (although they should lose the processed ones!) Anti-violence lyrics.
2. **toast of track 1 with Lutan Fyah, starts with vocals, riddim a bit subdued and sad.
3. ****same riddim, toast by Damian and singing by Stephen. The kids work real good together…
4. ***Promise Riddim starts with electronic orchestral sounds, then midtempo bubble. Very soulful singing, anti-violence lyrics. Really good, except for a bit of vocal processing.
5. **strong singing and toast about unrequited love – rather disturbing in places.
6. Female vocals, love song to a loser. Not my fave.
7. **upbeat midtempo skank, sweet vocals, love song/nice up de dance lyrics.
8. ***version of track 7, very dubby, frankly much better without the rather sleazy lyrics.
9. ***a bit downtempo syncopated skank, crazed vocals about pot.
10. **midtempo skank, apparently about being busted for growing pot? I dunno – Richie Spice has an interesting style…
11. ***midtempo skippy bubble, pleasant singing, fun sound.
12. ****electronic gun noises, then downtempo dub skank. Bits of vocals. Random noises and solo flute endings.
13. ***bouncy happy midtempo dub bubble. Wheee!
14. ****downtempo dub bubble with vocal harmonies.
15. ****downtempo dub kank with electronics, praise of pot.
16. ****sparse but forceful jungle grime – this’ll wake you up!
17. **simple piano intro, midtempo skank, pleasant but rather amateur sounding singing.
18. ****groovy downtempo dub instrumental.
19. ****more of the same.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Inner Circle Blood A Run
2. Inner Circle Feat. Lutan Fyah Gun Ting
3. Inner Circle Feat. Damian & Stephen Marley Smoke
4. Peter Ranks Badness Out Of Style
5. Robbie Cat On A Journey
6. Lady Saw Where He Is (Radio Version)
7. Beres Hammond I Feel Good
8. Beres Hammond I Feel Good Version
9. Richie Spice Wrap Up A Draw
10. Richie Spice The Plane Land
11. Dubmatix Feat. Prince Blanco Pressurize Me
12. Dubmatix War, Peace & Dub
13. Dubmatix Happy Dub
14. Dubmatix Warning
15. Dubmatix Blaze A Fire
16. Dj Ironbelly Cuss Down
17. Dubmatix Meets Howie Smart Let The Power
18. Dubmatix Hashashin Dub
19. Dubmatix Are You Ready Dub